Cornbread Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This recipe had WAAAAY too much mayo in it! I would cut the mayo/ranch dressing mixture in half. We always made this recipe with black-eyed peas and it's super yummy! Just don't use all of the mayo mixture. It overpowered the taste of anything else in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We actually enjoyed this one! Definetly something different and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Wow!! My Mom has talked for years about "Cornbread Salad," and I'm not a big fan of cornbread, but I made this for a work birthday dinner, and it's a hit. I didn't change a thing, but I did run out of room in my glass 13x9 bowl, so I only did one layer of beans and corn. Also, I didn't have green onions (just couldn't get them at the WalMart that day), so I used regular onions. What a great make-ahead dish. Colorful, country-elegant, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This salad is a surefire showstopper and makes a stunning presentation when layered as the recipe suggests. I used a clear glass 6 quart trifle bowl and made a few adjustments, and it turned out perfectly. I used 2 packages of Jiffy cornbread mix prepared as to the package directions and added double the spices, as well as a 4 ounce can of chopped green chilis, and a finely chopped onion. I used black beans instead of pintos, and used 2 cans instead of one, and 2 cans of corn. I left the bacon amount the same, but doubled the dressing, onion, green pepper, green onion and tomato, and used 2 cups of cheese as the recipe states. Certainly, you can mix everything together as others have done, but if you're looking to impress a crowd, make the extra effort, and layer this salad. It was truly the star of the show at our church potluck, both in taste and presentation. This one is going straight into my favorite recipes box, and will be enjoyed again and again. The only mistake I made was not taking copies of the recipe, as it was requested over and over, and the rave reviews left me confident that I had indeed found a "keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LECHEFRENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Oh my goodness! I made the recipe for our Christmas lunch at work yesterday and I had to give this recipe out to everyone! It was so good! I now have a great, quick, good tasting salad to take to pot lucks. My husband is a picky eater and I wasn't sure if he would like the leftovers I brought home from the luncheon. He went nuts over it. Good thing, because the recipe makes quite a bit. I am taking the rest for lunch today! Enjoy everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Huge hit. I loved it!!!! I made it with kideney beans instead of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I subbed black beans for the pinto beans and made my own mayonnaise. The people I served it to were really impressed by how tasty it was for a cold salad. Layered in a clear pyrex bowl makes it quite pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have a similar recipe that involves tossing a 4 oz. can of diced chilies into the cornbread when baking. If the dressing is too much for you, simply cut it to 1 cup each mayo and sour cream - I will actually try it like this recipe next time as I always have a hard time spreading only 2 cups evenly. I took this salad to a church picnic and it was gone, with several requests for the recipe. I thought it sounded weird, but I love this. Beautiful presentation in a glass dish. I like to make a half batch for myself. The 9X13 dish will be FULL with the full recipe, and a half batch easily fills a 3 qt. dish! Saves well in the fridge for several days, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I cant believe people are omitting items from this fantastic recipe. The only thing I do differently is: I dont layer it, I mix everything together. The salad is the best thing you'll ever put in your mouth. It is too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I have made this twice and both times I have had great reviews. It looks impressive in a trifle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States