Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The trick to this dish is giving it a try! I've made it many times as a side for bbq, but it is almost a meal in itself. Great with cold sliced ham too. Now I just usually make plain cornbread, may throw in the can of chiles or maybe not. There are plenty of other things going on so to me the extras in the cornbread are not essential. Tips: Mix up your dressing in advance, add the beans and allow the mixture to meld for a couple of hours in the fridge. It seems to make the dish more flavorful. If you're going to the trouble to put this together, make the dressing as stated! Bottled ranch---noooo! It's too wet and just does not have the creamier texture and tang you'll get by using sour cream. Cut the cornbread into tiny cubes before removing it from the pan. Makes for a better for presentation and it holds up longer. Once layered, this still needs more than 2 hours in order to reach max flavor---more like 6-8 or overnight, covered, in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was a huge hit at our gathering. I'm not a big fan of pinto beans so I put substituted them for black beans instead. The tomatoes, peppers & green onions weren't mentioned in the directions so I just mixed them in with the corn and it was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This is awesome!! And I make this so often that I don't actually need the recipe anymore. I leave out the bacon (just because it's a pain to deal with) and instead of layering I just mix everything together and I add a small layer of shredded cheese on top. It looks wonderful and it tastes even better! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
fun, colorful, and delicious yet unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I found that the amounts of cumin, oregano, and sage in the corn bread is so little you can't taste it through all the other ingredients. Tried doubling them, but still didn't notice, so I save myself the trouble and omit it. This is a wonderful salad, unique flavors, great for potlucks. Makes huge amount, I often half it still using most of the corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This recipe was a hit!I took it to a picnic and everyone raved.I was a little hesitant at first but it was very good.I bought a pre made cornbread from the bakery at the supermarket and also bought already cooked bacon because I was in a hurry and everything turned out perfect.This recipe made a lot so I took the leftovers home and the next day took the rest to another party and it tasted just as good.I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
i take this salad to just about every outing i go to. one woman stood by my pan until i claimed it just so she could get the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Fantastic! Instead of the regular ranch packet, I got the fiesta ranch for an extra kick, and I didn't have sage so I put in a little taco seasoning with it. I took it to a 4th of July BBQ and it disappeared! Thanks for an awesome recipe! I've already had to share it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
To be honest I didn’t particular like it but my family loved it! (I am very peculiar ? )....since I had kids coming over I cut the chili peppers in half the suggested amount and I mixed everything because I imagined it would be prettier all together…AND I WAS RIGHT! I loved the presentation... Really was a hit! PS/ I had 13 adults + 5 kids….I still have leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salvamea45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Awesome. I make this whenever i want to wow people. I Layer it in a trifle bowl as written with the exceptions of... I don't add any of the seasoning to the cornbread (there's enough flavor without) I add some chopped red peppers (because they are pretty in the trifle bowl) and use 2 cups of bottled Ranch dressing. This has been a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States