Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This salad has a wonderful blend of flavors without being overwhelming. It's not "too" anything, just delicious. I'm sure I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyPieya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duquesne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This tasted great, I made it for 4th of July and everyone loved it. Next time I'll make it the day before because it tasted even better the next day. 4 stars because it was a very time consuming dish to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This got mixed reviews from my family. I loved it, my husband didn't. That's why I'm giving it 3 stars instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Wow...This was AMAZING!!! I fixed this for a Fourth of July cook out and people RAVED over it. I used poultry seasoning and chili powder instead of sage and cumin (didn't have any on hand). I left out the bell pepper because I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
First of all, this is very pretty. One of my guy friends had at least 3 helpings, and took some home, too. I used half kidney beans and half black beans. It makes a LOT of salad, so unless you're going to a larger function, maybe try to do half a batch (Ww had 8 people, and ate less than half). I would have liked more cornbread, so that can stay the same, perhaps. May make this again, but a smaller version with more cornbread. Also, this was a bit more sticky/mushy the second day, so try to make it the same day as the event, unless you want it more like a potato salad consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I don't care for the bellpepper. Other than that this is an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Fearful of the mayo, I wanted to make this recipe a little more healthy for me and my husband. So I ditched the ranch and bacon and opted for browned lean ground turkey cooked with taco seasoning. Instead of 16 ounces of canned chilies, I used 8 ounces. The cornbread was simply delicious with chilies, cumin and oregano. One can of black beans and one can of light red kidney beans were used instead of the two cans of pinto beans (Next time, I'll soak some dried black and kidney beans to help cut the sodium.). Lastly, I used frozen corn rather than canned to cut down on the sodium. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I'm not a huge ranch fan so maybe time I will use half the packet of ranch. Salad smells awesome. I only used half the amount of chiles and that was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This recipe was fun and it looks yummy in a glass or clear plastic serving dish. There are so many things you can do to personalize this and make it your own. I started w adding a lot more seasoning to my cornbread recipe (paprika, celery seed, savory, cumin, garlic and roasted garlic, red pepper flakes). I used 1 can Northern white beans and 1 can Caribbean Recipe Black beans (yum!). I forgot to layer cheese in the middle, so put it all on top and that was just fine. Very flavorful and the diced tomatoes stay firm and fresh; nice surprise! The one thing that bothered me was how much MAYO and SOUR CREAM we were eating in every bite... so, I would stick to the recipe for potlucks, but serving my family, I plan on adding cottage cheese to the recipe and decreasing the amt of mayo and s.cream. I will also use the crumbled bacon in the bag (from costco) just because there is so much more meat and less fat in Costco's-- meaning a healthier end recipe. I thought it might also be fun to add spicy Jimmy Dean sausage (in place of the bacon), olives, chopped fresh broccoli into the layers-- serving it up w a wedge of lettuce and some hot peppers on the side. I used the stated size of canned chili's and it was fine. Once the cornbread is cooked, the flavor of the chili's is extremely mild. I will add MORE to mine next time. HA! Ohhhhhhhh the options! Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was really tasty and went over well at the potluck. I reduced the green peppers to one 4 ounce can and used fat free mayo and fat free sour cream in the dish (and no one knew) It was a very colorful dish and looked as good as it tasted. I used a low fat mexican cheese blend on top instead of just cheddar. I had just enough leftovers to take home and have for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States