Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Took this to a picnic where most had never had cornbread salad....enjoyed by all and very colorful. Made a few changes only because of personal preference for a healthier salad....Used light mayo, fat-free sour cream, precooked bacon just because it's less fatty and less fat cheddar. Instead of layering I tossed everything together except the bacon and let the favors blend over night in the fridge.....before serving I added the bacon. Added a few chopped tomatos, a little cheese and crumbled bacon on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. Like it for the summer, is a meal in itself. It really makes a lot and the dish is really full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I have tried several Cornbread Salad recipes and this is BY FAR the best. I took it to a luncheon and everyone loved it. I made it exactly according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAWG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I really enjoyed this--a nice change of pace from your typical pasta or potato salads. I do have to agree with previous reviewers that the seasoning in the cornbread really didn't add much...I couldn't tell it was there. The bacon added a little bit of smokey flavor, but could also be skipped to save time and it would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is awesome! I took it to a potluck and it was completely gone. It is a wonderful break from the usual suspect salads, and it has so many different flavors. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The trick to this dish is giving it a try! I've made it many times as a side for bbq, but it is almost a meal in itself. Great with cold sliced ham too. Now I just usually make plain cornbread, may throw in the can of chiles or maybe not. There are plenty of other things going on so to me the extras in the cornbread are not essential. Tips: Mix up your dressing in advance, add the beans and allow the mixture to meld for a couple of hours in the fridge. It seems to make the dish more flavorful. If you're going to the trouble to put this together, make the dressing as stated! Bottled ranch---noooo! It's too wet and just does not have the creamier texture and tang you'll get by using sour cream. Cut the cornbread into tiny cubes before removing it from the pan. Makes for a better for presentation and it holds up longer. Once layered, this still needs more than 2 hours in order to reach max flavor---more like 6-8 or overnight, covered, in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
it was okay fro me...expected more flavor i guess... everyone else liked it okay... it wasn't bad but it wasnt great..wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
One of my favorite dishes! Will please a crowd and feed a crowd. So good and worth the trouble and expense to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This has become one of my favorites - I can eat pretty much the entire bowl by myself (not at one sitting though). I must have served this 10 times in the past few months and someone asked for the recipe every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Tasted great! I used black beans and half the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valle Crucis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States