Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Yummmm! I was too lazy (and hungry) to do the butter melting/cooling thing, so I just added some vegetable oil and a little butter extract. These are fluffy and cook perfectly. Love that crunchy crust that comes from the cornmeal! My first time making cornmeal pancakes - won't be my last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Delicious recipe! I'm keeping this! A couple things I did wrong (not because the recipe told me so!) that I wanted to share, just in case: *Don't mix the butter in with the flour and cornmeal first! If you do, you'll get lots of little lumps of cornmeal/butter floating in floury milk. I don't know HOW I thought this would work... but it was not good. I blended the sucker with a submersion blender and then it was all good. *Coarse, stone-ground cornmeal makes for VERY crunchy pancakes! Again, this problem was mostly solved by the submersion blender - but next time I'm sticking to something finer ground. The batter doesn't cook for as long as cornbread, so I think the cooking time doesn't give the really coarse cornmeal grains a chance to soften. Those mistakes were my own, though, and not the recipes's - these suckers taste delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe is fabulous as is! Since we tried it, we've made these once a week (it's been several weeks). I always think I'll just save the leftovers in the freezer... yeah. No leftovers. **tip** Sometimes I save time by mixing all the dry ingredients together the night before, cover and leave them on the counter. In the morning, I just preheat the pan while I mix together my 3 wet ingredients and breakfast is on in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Prepared exactly as written...not horrible but not something we'd like again. I didn't find it overly cornbread tasting nor too sweet, we just didn't like the texture, taste was so-so...not what we were hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made these tonight with minor changes...I read some reviews that said they were a little sweet, so when I doubled the recipe instead of doubling the sugar, I used the original 2 Tbsp as instructed. I also changed the flour to 1 cup of all-purpose flour, and 1/2 a cup of Masa flour (for making tamales) and used the full 1 1/2 cups of yellow cornmeal. They were delicious and went perfectly with the soup I made for dinner. I'll be making these again! If I hadn't doubled the recipe, I would have used 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/4 cup Masa flour, and 3/4 cup cornmeal. That would be in keeping with what I did tonight. (oh, and only use half the sugar for a less sweet pancake). This was just what I was looking for - thank you for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
excellent...the only change i made was that I added some corn from corn on the cob leftover from the night before...nice crunch to the pancake...with pure maple syrup...pure heaven...will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
made as directed. love the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These were absolutely wonderful, light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
My family loved them! They are much better than the cornmeal griddle cake recipe I usually use - very moist and fluffy. (Gotta love buttermilk!) I have been trying prepare higher fiber foods, and this recipe fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
These were very good for something a little different. I did thin them out a bit more w/added milk only because I like thinner corn cakes. Thank you! I got enough for 2 cakes per serving(5 people), making them about 6".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States