Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have buttermilk at home so I substituted plain yogurt and changed the baking soda and baking powder accordingly. Next time I will try it with buttermilk because the yogurt made the pancakes a little heavy. That's why I still gave the recipe 5 stars since I changed the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj071480

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
delicious!.... but next time I will add more buttermilk. We found them to be quite dense with the amount recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It was delicious! Modified it only because we are Gluten Free and used GF flour. The rest I kept the same and they were fluffy and light and very tasty. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Not a fluffy pancake, but yummy all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My wife said it best, "With the cornbread taste, you didn't know whether to just put butter on them or if you should use some syrup." Overall, they are good. I like the cornbread taste. However, it's something I'd only do occasionally, like for company or for an option from regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These were very good. I had to modify mine because I have celiacs disease and can not eat wheat gluten. By simply substituting my gluten free flour mixture cup for cup for the wheat flour and adding a teaspoon of xantham gum these came out excellent. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegoat91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These have very good flavor and texture, but they are flat, not fat. I'm used to big fat fluffy pancakes. These didn't rise much, but otherwise very good and not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I was amazed to find the initial mixture was far too thick. I needed to add one whole cup more milk to pour the batter. Also, I doubled the salt as they were quite tasteless otherwise. I fried them in 2 small non- stick frying pans so they turned out perfectly round. The end result was excellent but I cannot understand why only one other reviewer said they had to add extra milk, and even they only added half a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I have been making and eating these pancakes for 45 years. I always have on hand all the ingredients except the buttermilk. But I have found a satisfactory substitute when I have no buttermilk on hand. Its called Saco brand cultured, blended buttermilk, in dry, instant form, in packets, that make one cup of buttermilk, just add milk,or water. One packet makes one cup. And it has a long shelf life, comes 4 packets to a box. Available at most grocery stores in baking goods section. Very handy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
For some reason I have been in the mood for Something made with cornmeal and this recipe was there. I followed the directions exactly and like others, used the milk/vinegar combo as a substitute for buttermilk. since I don't like syrup on pancakes ( yes I know that's weird) these will make a good snack with something spread on them or rolled up in them. This recipe was delicious and easy thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States