Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Not a fluffy pancake, but yummy all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My wife said it best, "With the cornbread taste, you didn't know whether to just put butter on them or if you should use some syrup." Overall, they are good. I like the cornbread taste. However, it's something I'd only do occasionally, like for company or for an option from regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These were very good. I had to modify mine because I have celiacs disease and can not eat wheat gluten. By simply substituting my gluten free flour mixture cup for cup for the wheat flour and adding a teaspoon of xantham gum these came out excellent. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegoat91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These have very good flavor and texture, but they are flat, not fat. I'm used to big fat fluffy pancakes. These didn't rise much, but otherwise very good and not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I was amazed to find the initial mixture was far too thick. I needed to add one whole cup more milk to pour the batter. Also, I doubled the salt as they were quite tasteless otherwise. I fried them in 2 small non- stick frying pans so they turned out perfectly round. The end result was excellent but I cannot understand why only one other reviewer said they had to add extra milk, and even they only added half a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I have been making and eating these pancakes for 45 years. I always have on hand all the ingredients except the buttermilk. But I have found a satisfactory substitute when I have no buttermilk on hand. Its called Saco brand cultured, blended buttermilk, in dry, instant form, in packets, that make one cup of buttermilk, just add milk,or water. One packet makes one cup. And it has a long shelf life, comes 4 packets to a box. Available at most grocery stores in baking goods section. Very handy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
For some reason I have been in the mood for Something made with cornmeal and this recipe was there. I followed the directions exactly and like others, used the milk/vinegar combo as a substitute for buttermilk. since I don't like syrup on pancakes ( yes I know that's weird) these will make a good snack with something spread on them or rolled up in them. This recipe was delicious and easy thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made a half batch thinking the misses wouldnt care for corn cakes. Well there werent any leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Gibson
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe and it was great. I have a stupid question, when you modify the recipe the rating you give it is it for the original or the modified? Ratings should be based on the recipe. IF you modify it and it does not taste good then don't rate the recipe to mislead people due to your modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I know what's for our breakfast! They sound awesome! Thanks for this wonderful recipe. The next star will come after we enjoy this terrific idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States