Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These just didn't work - the batter was way too thin, and almost no cornmeal flavor at all. I ended up adding an extra 1/4 cup cornmeal and some more baking powder and they turned out okay. I think I'll just stick with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I think I must be crazy because when I ate these I wasn't blown away but everyone else seems to think these are the best. I think the recipe is good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Everything old is new again. My mother (87) made these as a dinner bread when we were going thru hard times (she lived thru the Depression). A treat for us kids! Butter/jelly - that was enough. I had not thought about this in more than three decades! Please! If you make these, cut back on the sugar - at LEAST by a tablespoon! You'll have a bread worthy of any sausage or milk (as mom calls it) gravey you can sop up. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I love cornbread, so when I saw this recipe I had to try it and it was awesome. The family loved it for Sunday morning breakfast. I didn't have the buttermilk and did as others have done and it was great. I think this will now be on our Sunday morning breakfast must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicaInBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I really loved this recipe. I have a bunch of cornmeal that I need to use and this was a perfect way. I actually made waffles instead of pancakes. i took the advice of another person on the list by adding vinegar to regular milk to sour it. Yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Really good! I had to sour my milk with vinegar since I rarely buy buttermilk. Also used closer to 1.5 cups of milk to finish off the gallon :P the batter was not too runny or too thick this way, perhaps because I'm at a high altitude? Anyway, I think for my tastes a little more sugar and a slightly coarser corn meal would be better, but that is by no means the fault of the recipe. Also... melting 3tbs of butter and cooling it isn't that hard, I melted first, let it sit on the counter, and when I was almost ready for it I stuck it in the fridge for a brief period of time, maybe a minute or two. To detect they are ready to flip, there weren't the usual pancake bubbles, but the surface of the pancake was 90% less shiny, if that makes any sense. I have leftover batter in the fridge... about to go make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Sounds yummy! I don't keep buttermilk around the house, and I don't like the taste when you try to sour sweet milk. However yogurt works just as well. Just add 1/2 cup of sweet milk to thin it out. I use whatever flavour I have on hand. My family love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have buttermilk at home so I substituted plain yogurt and changed the baking soda and baking powder accordingly. Next time I will try it with buttermilk because the yogurt made the pancakes a little heavy. That's why I still gave the recipe 5 stars since I changed the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj071480

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
delicious!.... but next time I will add more buttermilk. We found them to be quite dense with the amount recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It was delicious! Modified it only because we are Gluten Free and used GF flour. The rest I kept the same and they were fluffy and light and very tasty. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States