Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Awesome! Made these this morning. Like another reviewer, I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I added a tablespoon of vinegar (apple cider) to my measuring cup, and then did the rest milk. My milk was skim, so I think that caused the batter to be a bit thinner. Added about 3 Tbsp. more of flour and a touch more baking powder to compensate. Also added a teaspoon more of sugar and a splash of vanilla. Great flavor, and that cornbread-y hint to it makes it a good, different pancake option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
These were one of the best pancakes I have ever made!!!! My husband prefers thinner pancakes, and I have been searching for a recipe for a long time now, and this is it! They were light, even with the cornmeal, slightly crisp, and completely delicious. I will be making these on a regular basis! I used vinegar and milk in place of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Ran out of pancake mix but had some masa so I used this recipe. I used whole milk and added some vanilla and they were gobbled up by my 3 kids. Don't skimp on the sugar. They are thin but we like thin pancakes. They aren't crepe like thin though, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I really liked these pancakes. I made them for my boyfriend and he wasn't the biggest fan but I love cornmeal way more than he does. I also eat them without syrup, just some butter or honey and it's just like having cornbread for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I used 1 c. whole wheat flour and 1/2 c. cornmeal, slightly less butter than called for and half the sugar. These were a big hit. They were definitely not too dense or heavy and didn't have as grainy a texture as cornbread (as some reviewers experienced). I beat the wet ingredients really well before folding them in to the dry very gently. Maybe that helped? We love pancakes in this house and will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
These were just "OK" for me. I love cornbread, and I love pancakes, so was hoping the two would come together in a heavenly way...didnt do it for me. I wont be making these again, sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe as a side of cornbread with our new years dinner and it turned out great. Thanks for such a simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Amazing! I didn't have buttermilk so I added 1 tablespoon of vinegar to the milk. Followed the recipe exactly. Husband loved them. This will be our new got to pancake recipe. Served with butter and warm maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe turned out very well for breakfast this morning. We had never had cornmeal pancakes before, but both enjoy cornbread. We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Frock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Never even thought of making anything like this. Very good recipe. Hardly needed any additional butter or syrup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States