Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Very good- I substituted white whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour and they still turned out delicious. I only wish there was a stronger corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Danieli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I accidentally increased buttermilk to 1 1/2c; & didn't accidentally decrease sugar to 1T & butter to 2T. 'Can't say I liked them better than traditional; but, on the off-chance I'm short of flour & want pancakes, I'll make again. They weren't too cornbready, almost couldn't tell. I used regular, not stoneground cornmeal. Update, next morning: Not-so-good. They got pretty stiff & cornbready. :D I'll save them for cornbread dressing soooo okay when fresh, not leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I adapted this recipe to be gluten-free by swapping garbanzo bean flour for the all-purpose flour and it came out wonderfully! I also need to be dairy-free, so I used melted ghee rather than butter and made my own "buttermilk" using white wine vinegar and almond milk (1T / 1c) and letting it sit for 15min. While the batter looked thick and dense, they ended up quite fluffy in the end. Possibly the best foundation pancake recipe I've come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
They turned out very fluffy and it was easy. Tasted really good with homemade buttermilk syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzviolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Pretty good as written, but as mentioned by other reviewers, they are a bit "heavy" as is. I think I will cut flour to 1/2 C next time I make these, and perhaps change the butter to melted bacon grease (something I always save & freeze). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGLVR

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Best pancakes I ever had! I was impressed that I made them. Definately a must try. I will never go back to normal pancakes. I think the cornmeal and buttermilk really make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
These are pretty good--I followed the recipe other than the buttermilk, which I had none of so I used regular milk with vinegar. I don't know why some of the reviewers said the batter was too thick because I thought it was too thin. The pancakes I got were very flat, but did have a nice cornbread flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I replaced all-purpose flour in this recipe with corn flour and did not add sugar (except for maple syrup when it was all done). Was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I just made these and I didn't know what to rate them...4 stars for flavor but two for texture so I went with the average. As other reviewers said, they are very dense and flat. I kind of expected that though since cornmeal muffins and bread are not exactly light and fluffy. However, these were very tasty! I agree with another person who said they were too sweet though, especially if you are going to put something sweet on top like syrup. I will make these again but leave out the sugar and add 1/2 cup more flour. I added 1/4 after making 4 pancakes to see if it would make them a little thicker and/or fluffier and it did make a little difference. I also think I will use a little less butter, maybe 2 TBS since I noticed that as they were frying, you could see the butter oozing out. So I suggest if you love cornmeal...make these, you'll probably like them like we did. However, if you want a light fluffy pancake, these aren't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States