Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I adapted this recipe to be gluten-free by swapping garbanzo bean flour for the all-purpose flour and it came out wonderfully! I also need to be dairy-free, so I used melted ghee rather than butter and made my own "buttermilk" using white wine vinegar and almond milk (1T / 1c) and letting it sit for 15min. While the batter looked thick and dense, they ended up quite fluffy in the end. Possibly the best foundation pancake recipe I've come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
They turned out very fluffy and it was easy. Tasted really good with homemade buttermilk syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Pretty good as written, but as mentioned by other reviewers, they are a bit "heavy" as is. I think I will cut flour to 1/2 C next time I make these, and perhaps change the butter to melted bacon grease (something I always save & freeze). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGLVR

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Best pancakes I ever had! I was impressed that I made them. Definately a must try. I will never go back to normal pancakes. I think the cornmeal and buttermilk really make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
These are pretty good--I followed the recipe other than the buttermilk, which I had none of so I used regular milk with vinegar. I don't know why some of the reviewers said the batter was too thick because I thought it was too thin. The pancakes I got were very flat, but did have a nice cornbread flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I replaced all-purpose flour in this recipe with corn flour and did not add sugar (except for maple syrup when it was all done). Was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I just made these and I didn't know what to rate them...4 stars for flavor but two for texture so I went with the average. As other reviewers said, they are very dense and flat. I kind of expected that though since cornmeal muffins and bread are not exactly light and fluffy. However, these were very tasty! I agree with another person who said they were too sweet though, especially if you are going to put something sweet on top like syrup. I will make these again but leave out the sugar and add 1/2 cup more flour. I added 1/4 after making 4 pancakes to see if it would make them a little thicker and/or fluffier and it did make a little difference. I also think I will use a little less butter, maybe 2 TBS since I noticed that as they were frying, you could see the butter oozing out. So I suggest if you love cornmeal...make these, you'll probably like them like we did. However, if you want a light fluffy pancake, these aren't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Awesome! Made these this morning. Like another reviewer, I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I added a tablespoon of vinegar (apple cider) to my measuring cup, and then did the rest milk. My milk was skim, so I think that caused the batter to be a bit thinner. Added about 3 Tbsp. more of flour and a touch more baking powder to compensate. Also added a teaspoon more of sugar and a splash of vanilla. Great flavor, and that cornbread-y hint to it makes it a good, different pancake option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
These were one of the best pancakes I have ever made!!!! My husband prefers thinner pancakes, and I have been searching for a recipe for a long time now, and this is it! They were light, even with the cornmeal, slightly crisp, and completely delicious. I will be making these on a regular basis! I used vinegar and milk in place of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Ran out of pancake mix but had some masa so I used this recipe. I used whole milk and added some vanilla and they were gobbled up by my 3 kids. Don't skimp on the sugar. They are thin but we like thin pancakes. They aren't crepe like thin though, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States