Cornbread Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These muffins barely rose AT ALL. They weren't overly dense, which was a bonus, but they were fairly bland. I was really looking for that nice crispy cornbread muffin top, but got a sad little round puck. I don't like sweeter cornbreads, so the flavor did not put me off, but this is just something to take into account when making this recipe. Either way, I expected something MUCH better for how highly rated this recipe was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
They were very good, but I like mine sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I thought these were really good muffins. After reading prior reviews I too thought 450 was too high so I baked them at 425. Seemed perfect and muffins rose nicely and were cooked inside at the same time as outside. I filled the muffin cups about 3/4 full and it made exactly the right amount of muffins as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martese houle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Best cornbread muffins ever. I followed the recipe exactly. The whole family loved them! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
When I read that the oven temp was 450 I was skeptical but went ahead with it anyway. of course the muffins came out a little burned. Next time I would cook at a lower temp for longer. Could use more sweetness. Used rice milk instead of buttermilk due to allergy. Taste was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had high hopes for this! I love good restaurant cornbread and the kind with creamed corn, and I think Jiffy is dreadful stuff. I made a batch last night for preschool today and found it fairly bitter in the back of the mouth. The kids won't care, but I would not make this again. The other recipe I was considering, Sweet Corn Muffins, had more flour to less cornmeal, and maybe I'll try that next time. Also, this batter was almost as thin as pancake batter, which alarmed me! Although it did rise and brown nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I thought these would be great because of all the positive reviews, but I found that they were a little dry and just seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I'm actually one of those odd people that can eat sweet or unsweet cornbread and I decided to leave the sugar out. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Light and fluffy...but had a baking powder/soda taste....think I'll only add 3 tsp of baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Okay, but bland. Maybe if you added some fruit to the batter, but it is a very runny batter and the fruit might not mix in evenly. Mine didn't rise very much and I would say the cups could have been filled fuller to look more like the ones in the picture. If you are eating these with a gravy or something to dip them, they are probably just right for that. I followed the recipe as is, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lottie Gilpin Bardoel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States