Cornbread Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
flavorful but dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Great taste!! They are a tad dense, but that's okay for chili. I used Canola oil instead of butter, omitted the honey, added a Tsp vanilla, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup (but 2/3 is fine I'm sure.) Plus I only had to cook them half the time in a conventional oven. They POPPED right up like popovers do! Cute :) I remembered to thaw the frozen corn first, so I didn't have a problem with the kernel texture. The point is that a home-cook could tweak the recipe and it still turns out delicious! Yumitty Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
These are moist and sweet. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I really liked these muffins. I used canned creamed corn (3/4 c.) instead of corn kernals and bumped up the cornmeal to a full cup to make up for the liquid in the creamed corn. They turned out really well - very moist and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made these mostly as directed but substituted a cup of frozen blueberries instead of corn. They came out good and I didn't think too sweet, but possibly because I used some almond flour instead of white flour and almond milk instead of regular milk.... Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
What can I say but Wow!! The whole family loved them. When I made them I followed the tips of a reviewer (Epcot82Guy), and they were a hit! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I really liked these muffins. They were moist and had a great flavor. I wasn't sure initially how full to fill the cupcake liners, but I ended up filling them nearly to the top and they rose nicely without spilling over everywhere. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Merolla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Family enjoyed these but felt they were a bit dry. If I were to make again I would add some oil or make with creamed corn rather than kernel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe. I won't talk about my changes, they were few and driven my need. The flavor was very sweet, but that's what I expected. I did make in a round cake pan instead of muffins. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
On the plus side, these came out moist with good flavor. On the downside, I took them out at 20 mins, and they were overbaked. Several had burnt bottoms. I suggest checking them at 18 mins. After reading some reviews, I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and used canned corn instead of frozen. I also beat the sugar, butter, and honey first and then added the eggs one at a time. I don't know if that made a difference, but they were pretty dense. I served them with chili (pumpkin turkey chili, from this site, albeit modified), and people liked them but didn't love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States