Cornbread Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe! The second time I made it, I substituted applesauce for butter and used whole wheat flour and soy milk. It was still very good and much less guilt free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Smelled delicious in the oven. Followed recipe except for corn-didn't have any. Muffins were moist and a bit sweet, the honey was a bit too much, probably will cut back a bit on honey and sugar next time. Overall, I would make that recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Beitman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Pretty good! I'm not a sweet flavor person so I didn't add the honey (topping with honey butter for the family) and added sour cream, slight amount more baking powder, hot sauce and soaked the corn meal like another did. Texture is stellar and flavor is straight corn goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gerry
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
These were incredibly easy to make! I too, like most others, used canned corn. However, it was my first time buying, baking with and eating cornmeal and I didn't like the bits in the muffin. Any suggestions as to whether to omit the cornmeal? Otherwise, this was an absolutely delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is great. I used half and half (all I had in my fridge) instead of milk and added about 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper to add a little bit of heat. Very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Among the best corn muffins I've made. I did cherry pick changes from other reviewers: I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup & added 1/4 cup of sour cream. I used thawed frozen corn with no problem. But my muffins were done at 15m, & my oven is properly calibrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMaster

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this gluten free! I did not add the corn. I used sweet rice flour, gluten free corn meal and 1/2 tsp of xantham gum (since it is gluten free) and a ratio of 2:1 cream of tartar to baking soda for gluten free baking powder. I thought I was out of gluten free cornbread mix until I was halfway through mixing this recipe up. Turns out this is way better then the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy L. Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The best basic one...I made changes so not really a fair rating....changed the butter to lard...I prefer lard when making savoury...I added whole chopped jalepeno and some jarred red pepper and real corn...not frozen. AND cause it was savoury I used sour cream instead of honey....still need the white stuff though. AND then I made 30 mini muffins....they were great. But I have been cooking a LONG time so understand where changes can be made. But dang they turned out good. Oh and 10/12 minutes in 350'....check at ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I've made this recipes about 6 times. The first time I followed the instructions exactly with the exception of using 3/4 canned corn kernels instead of frozen. They were perfect. The second time, I followed some of the reviewers recommendations. I reduced the sugar by half, and used the entire 15.25 oz can of corn, drained. The extra corn worked out perfectly, but I prefer the recommended amount of sugar in the original recipe. My favorite way to make these muffins: follow recipe exactly with exception of using an entire can of corn. Make mini muffins adding large slices of all beef hotdogs to each muffin. Bake at 375 for 18 minutes. I've had to start doubling the recipe because my teenagers and husband devour these. They are so much better than the processed corn dogs bought at the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMom
Home Town: Rigby, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Pretty good except they were way too sweet even for someone who likes sweet. Instead of 2/3 sugar perhaps only use 1/3 cup, keeping the honey at a scant 1/4 cup. I used cream instead of milk, 1 cup canned corn as others suggested and they were good, though what Southerners might call "Yankee style". I used Nora Mill Granery yellow spectacled grits, rather large grained, and I think if you use fine grained corn meal these may be too dry. Not sure why this is not clearly explained in corn bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States