Cornbread Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
On the plus side, these came out moist with good flavor. On the downside, I took them out at 20 mins, and they were overbaked. Several had burnt bottoms. I suggest checking them at 18 mins. After reading some reviews, I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and used canned corn instead of frozen. I also beat the sugar, butter, and honey first and then added the eggs one at a time. I don't know if that made a difference, but they were pretty dense. I served them with chili (pumpkin turkey chili, from this site, albeit modified), and people liked them but didn't love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Moist and sweet. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Following prior suggestions, I reduced the sugar a little, used 1/2 cup skim milk and a large spoonful of reduced fat sour cream. I also used canned corn, drained. These came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Loved this recipe. I do not like the typical dry and crumbly cornbread. I have been looking for a more smooth textured recipe. With a couple of minor modifications, these were close to a real muffin consistency and were not at all crumbly. I chose not to add corn so I substituted 1-2 additional tablespoons of butter and increased the milk to 3/4 cup so they would not get dry. I would recommend at the 15 minute mark to start watching them closely so they do not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Sweet. Matt loved. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great taste but a little dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
very yummy and easy! Didn't have honey so I substituted maple flavored pancake syrup and they really were delicious! Served them with fried chicken and they were a hit! Next time I will decrease the flour and increase the cornmeal because I am used to serving Jiffy mix cornbread, which is more corn meal based, I think. Totally recommend! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is a very, very good recipe! The sweetness and the corn along with the honey was great. The only thing I did different was I made this in an 8" iron skillet. I rubbed butter in the skillet before I poured the corn bread in. I baked it at 350 for 18 minutes. Turn out golden and delicious. Will make this again for sure! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made these muffins for my women's Bible study group and they loved them! We are having chili today and I am going to make them again! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I love cornbread and corn bread muffins. I am delighted with this recipe. Mine made 12 full size, delicious muffins. Please note that I omitted the canned corn as I didn't have any at home. Also, I baked mine for 20 minutes and they were slightly overdone. So, I suggest that you keep an eye on yours and possibly start checking them at about 15 minutes. I will never use a package mix again. These were easy to make and turned out great. Thanks for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States