Cornbread Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is the second time I am reviewing this...This time around, I used heavy cream instead of milk and almost 1 can of corn instead of frozen - no wierd chewy bits as before with the frozen corn. Made one loaf with corn & one without - the loaf with corn was moister and more flavourful. I also made one mistake loaf where I used 1 cup of milk (with corn)- that actually was the moistest loaf. And the honey gave it a good flavor. I used loaf pans, which required about 45 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Overall, this is a very good base recipe. After making a test batch, I made the following alterations, and they turned out really well! Take any you would like! Also, as with any quick bread or cake, MAKE SURE you cream your butter and sugar well (i.e. a minimum of 4-5 minutes) and that all your ingredients are room temperature to ensure even baking. 1. I soaked the cornmeal in the milk for 15 minutes and added this mixture after adding the flour/baking soda. 2. I read the other reviews and reduced the sugar to 1/2 c. (although I didn't think they were too sweet before - I just like really sweet cornbread). 3. Again, off the other reviews, I added about 3/4 of a can of kernel corn, drained, instead of frozen (the frozen was a bit chewy). 4. Instead of upping the milk, I stirred in 1/4 c of sour cream before the kernel corn. Made a nice texture difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
These are very tasty corn muffins, and my daughter's favorite! I used freshly ground corn and soft wheat, making them come out a little more dense, but delicious and hearty. I also subsituted canned for frozen corn with great results. The recipe takes exactly one regular sized can of corn. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
These muffins were a bit too sweet for my taste. I would cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup next time. Remember to thaw the corn; otherwise, the kernels will be too dry. This recipe will also yield 24 mini-muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Can you say yummmmmmyyyy??? These were so moist and delicious. Though I baked them in a rectangular class baking dish instead of a muffin tin and it took about 15 min longer to bake. They turned out great. They were sweet and we used Brummel and Brown on them and had them with chili. They were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Excellent! I had to omit the corn kernels, however-didn't have any available at the time. But they were still lovely and sweet. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
These were so delicious! I made them in mini-loaf pans and ate a slice in the morning for breakfast. My boyfriend always wants me to make these again. I followed the recipe exactly and plan to double or triple the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Very nice and light -- great with chili. I might increase the honey next time to add a little more sweetness. I made them as mini-muffins -- just the right size for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Very delicious. Moister and heavier than regular corn bread. Didn't need anything on them. Best when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
These muffins were very heavy and dry - would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States