Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I'm from the south and grew up on classic buttermilk cornbread. I've since moved and forgot my family recipe, so I looked up a recipe here to jog my memory. This was a very good base recipe. The result was a crispy bottom, and soft moist middle. The perfect cornbread in my eyes. However, I did change a few things. First, I used an iron skillet. If you want a good crispy crust you must you an iron skillet. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees as the recipe says, then I put a cool iron skillet in the oven with a thin layer of vegetable oil on the bottom in the oven to heat. Heating the skillet before adding the mixture will prevent the bread from sticking. After preparing the skillet I Mixed the recipe together as directed except for a few minor exceptions. I did not use potato flakes or baking powder, I used buttermilk (this is also a must for cornbread), and I added a cup of cornmeal instead of 1/2 cup. Then I carefully took the hot skillet out of the oven (be careful, by now its HOT) Added the mixture, and baked for 20 minutes. After the 20 minutes was up I changed the stove to high broil to brown the top, not required but it adds a little extra something. If you do broil your break make sure to stay with it and watch, it shouldn't take more than a few seconds, 30 tops. Leaving it on broil too long will burn the bread. Good luck to anyone who makes this and thinks to Chefkimber for submitting a wonderful base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlan, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
A quick and easy recipie. I would like more a corn taste and use 2x the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Unfortunately, I found this recipie, not very good. I found it dry, as most cornbreads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
Very quick and tasty. I sprinkle an extra teaspoon of sugar on top before baking for that sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I was quite impressed with this cornbread recipe. I was looking for a new cornbread recipe to make cornbread dressing with. I doubled the recipe (but I only increased the baking powder by two additional teaspoons instead of four) and this recipe proved to be excellent. It was a good base for my cornbread stuffing and won praises with my family. This cornbread recipe is definitely a keeper for me. I did omit the potato flakes and it still worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
UFF, what can I say... it was quite moist but not sweet. I would have liked it with more cornmeal flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
being from tennessee, i have had some pretty great cornbreads, and this is not one of them. this cornbread is just okay. i doubled the sugar and the cornmeal and used buttermilk and still it was rather dry. we had it last night with vegetable soup--it's great for crumbling into the soup, because you can't tell how dry it is, but for eating it by itself, like i said, it's just okay. i took one reviewers suggestion to preheat the pan with vegetable oil in it before adding the cornmeal mixture and unfortunately my cornbread stuck to the pan. so, i will not be doing that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyparker216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
If you grew up in the South eating grandma's cornbread on Sunday, you will not recognize this as cornbread. The proportions of cornmeal to flour are backwards at best, and I even increased the meal to 1 cup. Perhaps this is what passes for cornbread in some places, but not around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This has to be the best cornbread I've had! Thank goodness I ran out of Jiffy mix. Maybe next time I will add a little more sugar, but other than that it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This recipie is great . I whisked it all together for a longer time , as I like my cornbread moist . I will be making a lot more of this !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States