Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This recipie is great . I whisked it all together for a longer time , as I like my cornbread moist . I will be making a lot more of this !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I thought this was fabulous! It wasn't too sweet, which is a problem I have with allot of the cornbread recipes out there. I was a little leery about the use of the potato flakes, but they added moistness and a tad bit of texture to finished product. It was delicious with the Black beans I cooked. This will be the recipe I use every time. I must say mine cooked up a little less even on the top as compared to the picture accompanied with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjackson251

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This cornbread is great. I love the addition of instant potatoes. Never thought of that before. I wanted a cornbread that wasn't sweet and this one fit the bill. The only change I made was I forgot to buy baking powder. Oops. But I had some self-rising flour. I was skeptical, but IT WORKED. I just needed to make a pan of cornbread to use for my Thanksgiving dressing. This one was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA
Living In: Cumbernauld, Lanarkshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I'm from the south and grew up on classic buttermilk cornbread. I've since moved and forgot my family recipe, so I looked up a recipe here to jog my memory. This was a very good base recipe. The result was a crispy bottom, and soft moist middle. The perfect cornbread in my eyes. However, I did change a few things. First, I used an iron skillet. If you want a good crispy crust you must you an iron skillet. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees as the recipe says, then I put a cool iron skillet in the oven with a thin layer of vegetable oil on the bottom in the oven to heat. Heating the skillet before adding the mixture will prevent the bread from sticking. After preparing the skillet I Mixed the recipe together as directed except for a few minor exceptions. I did not use potato flakes or baking powder, I used buttermilk (this is also a must for cornbread), and I added a cup of cornmeal instead of 1/2 cup. Then I carefully took the hot skillet out of the oven (be careful, by now its HOT) Added the mixture, and baked for 20 minutes. After the 20 minutes was up I changed the stove to high broil to brown the top, not required but it adds a little extra something. If you do broil your break make sure to stay with it and watch, it shouldn't take more than a few seconds, 30 tops. Leaving it on broil too long will burn the bread. Good luck to anyone who makes this and thinks to Chefkimber for submitting a wonderful base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlan, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
We loved this recipe with honey butter. We had to reduce the baking powder to 3 tsps. and it still worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great recipe, used 1/2 ,12 grain flour intead of all while, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was a great standard sweet cornbread recipe. Perfect with a bowl of pinto beans and some fried 'taters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I loved this recipe and I didn't change a thing! It was fast and easy to put together and came out beautiful flaky and good. I never would have thought about putting instant mashed potato flakes in cornbread but I think it really adds something. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
First one I found that was good and worth saving. i will tell you 2 tablespoons is not enough sugar if you like sweeter cornbread, i used 6 and it was perfect. 4 will still leave it a little bitter for me. i did not have the potato flakes, made it anyway and it worked perfectly. good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzzardjrt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for our Pastors anniversary and it was wonderful! I had lots of compliments and many people wanted the recipe! Am DEFINATELY making this for Christmas dinner this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States