Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
A quick and easy recipie. I would like more a corn taste and use 2x the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
Very quick and tasty. I sprinkle an extra teaspoon of sugar on top before baking for that sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Unfortunately, I found this recipie, not very good. I found it dry, as most cornbreads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I was quite impressed with this cornbread recipe. I was looking for a new cornbread recipe to make cornbread dressing with. I doubled the recipe (but I only increased the baking powder by two additional teaspoons instead of four) and this recipe proved to be excellent. It was a good base for my cornbread stuffing and won praises with my family. This cornbread recipe is definitely a keeper for me. I did omit the potato flakes and it still worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Pretty good recipe. I used 1 cup of cornflour instead of the 1/2 cup cornmeal, withheld the sugar and instant mashed potatoe flakes so I could make a cornbread dressing. Pretty good. I then wanted sweet cornbread so I added the sugar in the recipe. I have never made this recipe using the instant mashed potatoes. Maybe I'll try that one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American in Sweden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Uddevalla, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Was not sweet. I even tried with extra sugar. Was moist though. We will probably not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
It was very easy, quick, and delicious. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennmamaof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This recipie is great . I whisked it all together for a longer time , as I like my cornbread moist . I will be making a lot more of this !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was okay, but I guess I prefer to have a stronger cornmeal flavor and texture in my cornbread. I saw others' comments about this not being sweet enough. I made it according to the recipe and thought it was fine. This cornbread is very dense and has more of a bread-like quality than the cornbread I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This cornbread is great. I love the addition of instant potatoes. Never thought of that before. I wanted a cornbread that wasn't sweet and this one fit the bill. The only change I made was I forgot to buy baking powder. Oops. But I had some self-rising flour. I was skeptical, but IT WORKED. I just needed to make a pan of cornbread to use for my Thanksgiving dressing. This one was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA
Living In: Cumbernauld, Lanarkshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States