Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great recipe, used 1/2 ,12 grain flour intead of all while, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I loved this recipe and I didn't change a thing! It was fast and easy to put together and came out beautiful flaky and good. I never would have thought about putting instant mashed potato flakes in cornbread but I think it really adds something. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was the first time I made cornbread that wasn't from the box. It was pretty easy. I could smell the mashed potato as I pulled it out of the oven but I never tasted it. I would have liked a little more cornbread flavor and it seemed a on the line of dry/crumbly and moist/spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
We loved this recipe with honey butter. We had to reduce the baking powder to 3 tsps. and it still worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was pretty good cornbread. I increased the sugar to 1/4 cup and followed Evianposh's suggestion of using a cast iron skillet. I also added a drained can of corn to it. I think I like this better than my usual cornbread, so I'm switching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I'm from the south and grew up on classic buttermilk cornbread. I've since moved and forgot my family recipe, so I looked up a recipe here to jog my memory. This was a very good base recipe. The result was a crispy bottom, and soft moist middle. The perfect cornbread in my eyes. However, I did change a few things. First, I used an iron skillet. If you want a good crispy crust you must you an iron skillet. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees as the recipe says, then I put a cool iron skillet in the oven with a thin layer of vegetable oil on the bottom in the oven to heat. Heating the skillet before adding the mixture will prevent the bread from sticking. After preparing the skillet I Mixed the recipe together as directed except for a few minor exceptions. I did not use potato flakes or baking powder, I used buttermilk (this is also a must for cornbread), and I added a cup of cornmeal instead of 1/2 cup. Then I carefully took the hot skillet out of the oven (be careful, by now its HOT) Added the mixture, and baked for 20 minutes. After the 20 minutes was up I changed the stove to high broil to brown the top, not required but it adds a little extra something. If you do broil your break make sure to stay with it and watch, it shouldn't take more than a few seconds, 30 tops. Leaving it on broil too long will burn the bread. Good luck to anyone who makes this and thinks to Chefkimber for submitting a wonderful base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlan, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was a great standard sweet cornbread recipe. Perfect with a bowl of pinto beans and some fried 'taters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
UFF, what can I say... it was quite moist but not sweet. I would have liked it with more cornmeal flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Personally I would give this recipe two stars, but my BH liked it. I suppose he's used to "dry" cornbread. The description says "so delicious and moist" that I thought I would try it. It was neither for me. Plus, it needed more cornmeal and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This cornbread is great. I love the addition of instant potatoes. Never thought of that before. I wanted a cornbread that wasn't sweet and this one fit the bill. The only change I made was I forgot to buy baking powder. Oops. But I had some self-rising flour. I was skeptical, but IT WORKED. I just needed to make a pan of cornbread to use for my Thanksgiving dressing. This one was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA
Living In: Cumbernauld, Lanarkshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States