Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I used less salt and baking powder not soda. It was good but, 30 min. was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Standard cornbread. Exactly what I was looking for, without any additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
On the second try I reduced the salt to 1/4 teaspoon and I added 1/4 cup of sugar. I made two seperate batches and poured them in a cast iron pan to bake. Baking powder not baking soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Thanks for this! I like the sweet, cakey one, too, but it's not really cornbread, is it? This is literally just like Mother made, in the iron skillet I still have !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Perfect recipe if you're looking for a "not sweet" cornbread. I made mine in a large piece of stoneware so it was thin and cooked up very quickly. Was very tasty with butter and/or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I really didn't think this was going to work. I usually add flour to my stone ground cornmeal recipes. I also thought the heat would be too high. My husband is a diabetic so I decided to go for it. I took a peek at it during cooking & it looked like it was a weird boiling mess. But, I'll admit I ate half the pan. Kept coming back for more. Really liked it. I even did the vinegar, skim milk trick since I didn't have any buttermilk. Can't wait to try it with buttermilk. I also only had butter flavored Shortening so I used that. It's a simple recipe that I really liked. I did take it out at about 25 minutes. It was started to get really brown around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
needs sugar and I don't know about the baking soda, should be baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was very good - I was very happy to find a tasty cornbread recipe that wasn't sweet! ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This is the real southern cornbread recipe,delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Finally, a true southern cornbread recipe that isn't a sweet cake-like bread. If I wanted sweet bread, I'd bake a cake... This recipe goes wonderfully with pinto beans as well as chili. Nothing like using fresh stone ground meal as well...YUMMY!!! For those who claimed it didn't have any flavor. Did you use the BUTTERMILK??? That's where the flavor comes from. Another thing, this is a very small batch, bake it in a small skillet, not a 9 inch one..more like a 6 inch cast iron. Fresh stone ground cornmeal doesn't have baking soda/baking powder/salt.....Most old-fashion/seasoned bakers knows that. It should have been added to the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States