Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My club used this 5X. Some used 1/4c maple, agave or honey, our fats varied(shortening, butter, coconut oil, canola) & we used thick cut polenta. R was great w/each preference combo & texture was incredible! My $.02: SALT:Too much for amount of soda used. Forget topping the original R w/butter! We 1st used the R as is, then needed to reduce the salt. I think it was a typo because the recommendation for adding salt to flour is .5tp/1c flour. There's only 1c here. Plus, baking soda is a salt. With confidence you can reduce the salt to taste because the rising will be unaffected (there's no yeast in this R). BAKING TIME:16 minutes tops! I used a 9" glass pan. With a sweetener the top and sides will burn if not watched after the 11 minute mark. As soon as you like the color place foil lightly over the CB and continue to bake. Sugar has carbon and therefore will turn to charcoal in heat; 450* is HOT and this happen fast in the R. No sugar? Start checking after 13 minutes by lightly tapping top of CB to feel if its solid. Like moist CB? Take it out as soon as it's solid. Not using CISkillets? Don't mind flour? Flour pan generously for less sticking. BAKING SODA:Baking soda can replace baking powder but reverse is NOT true. One must use bs or the CB will be flat. MILK:You can't use milk in this R. The Baking soda will only combine w/ acidic milk to form CO2 & leaven this R. MIX:Mix wet/dry separately.Combine at last sec. to retain as many CO2 bubbles as possible for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was very good but a little salty for my family and I .I would do it again but put less salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I am definitely going to keep this recipe around! I think it goes great with a hearty soup or stew. The dense, gritty texture is a nice break from the type of cornbread most of us are used to. I made it vegan by using unsweetened soymilk (with a splash of lemon juice to fake the buttermilk) and a flaxseed/water combination for the egg substitute. My oven typically cooks slow, but this cornbread only took about 35 minutes until it was nice and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
After trying this recipe, I have to say that I much more prefer sweeter, cake-like cornbread. And I know this recipe is not supposed to be like that, but we just didn't enjoy it very much. It was too salty and gritty. I think my skillet was too big because it came out more like a cornbread pancake! If you have a larger skillet, then I would suggest doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great recipe! It was my first time making cornbread and I was very happy with how it worked out. I did make a few changes - I used slightly less than 3/4 cup medium cornmeal, 1 tbsp plain flour, 1/4 cup coarse wholemeal flour, cut down salt to a scanty 1/2 tsp, added 1/2 tsp baking powder as well as the baking soda, and added 1/2 tbsp honey and half tbsp caster sugar. I also used a cast iron casserole dish and sunflower oil, as I didn't have a skillet or shortening. It came out a little lighter / fluffier i.e more cake like than I expected, but this was probably due to me fiddling around with the recipe! Either way, it was great, and a healthier option than many others out there! Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Good skillet cornbread. We like savory & grainy when it somes to cornbread as opposed to sweet & cakey, so this was a good choice for us. I love cornbread from a skillet with that crispy bottom and edges. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I used less salt and baking powder not soda. It was good but, 30 min. was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Standard cornbread. Exactly what I was looking for, without any additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
On the second try I reduced the salt to 1/4 teaspoon and I added 1/4 cup of sugar. I made two seperate batches and poured them in a cast iron pan to bake. Baking powder not baking soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Thanks for this! I like the sweet, cakey one, too, but it's not really cornbread, is it? This is literally just like Mother made, in the iron skillet I still have !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States