Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I did add about 1/4C honey and 1/4C white flour to the recipe and baked in a non-stick, metal cake pan for about 20 minutes. Only had regular cornmeal, not stone ground. Love the texture. Even with adding honey, still not sweet and still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Nice cornbread, I overcooked it a bit and next time will use a smaller pan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Delicious. True southern cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SASSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cornbread was okay at first, a little too thick for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theguts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
For some reason I can't make a pan of cornbread to my taste and that doesn't fall apart unless I use two eggs. So I did with this recipe, and it's perfect every time, flipped over onto a plate out of an ancient cast iron skillet, crusty on the outside, dense and delicious on the inside. I like it best just out of the oven, with real salted butter. I'm going to try a different corn meal next time, because I think that's been my problem. This recipe is what my momma says she makes, and of course it's momma's cooking that I'm craving now that she's moved 2000 miles away. Come back home to Arkansas, mom!!! Great doings, Nancy! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My club used this 5X. Some used 1/4c maple, agave or honey, our fats varied(shortening, butter, coconut oil, canola) & we used thick cut polenta. R was great w/each preference combo & texture was incredible! My $.02: SALT:Too much for amount of soda used. Forget topping the original R w/butter! We 1st used the R as is, then needed to reduce the salt. I think it was a typo because the recommendation for adding salt to flour is .5tp/1c flour. There's only 1c here. Plus, baking soda is a salt. With confidence you can reduce the salt to taste because the rising will be unaffected (there's no yeast in this R). BAKING TIME:16 minutes tops! I used a 9" glass pan. With a sweetener the top and sides will burn if not watched after the 11 minute mark. As soon as you like the color place foil lightly over the CB and continue to bake. Sugar has carbon and therefore will turn to charcoal in heat; 450* is HOT and this happen fast in the R. No sugar? Start checking after 13 minutes by lightly tapping top of CB to feel if its solid. Like moist CB? Take it out as soon as it's solid. Not using CISkillets? Don't mind flour? Flour pan generously for less sticking. BAKING SODA:Baking soda can replace baking powder but reverse is NOT true. One must use bs or the CB will be flat. MILK:You can't use milk in this R. The Baking soda will only combine w/ acidic milk to form CO2 & leaven this R. MIX:Mix wet/dry separately.Combine at last sec. to retain as many CO2 bubbles as possible for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was very good but a little salty for my family and I .I would do it again but put less salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I am definitely going to keep this recipe around! I think it goes great with a hearty soup or stew. The dense, gritty texture is a nice break from the type of cornbread most of us are used to. I made it vegan by using unsweetened soymilk (with a splash of lemon juice to fake the buttermilk) and a flaxseed/water combination for the egg substitute. My oven typically cooks slow, but this cornbread only took about 35 minutes until it was nice and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
After trying this recipe, I have to say that I much more prefer sweeter, cake-like cornbread. And I know this recipe is not supposed to be like that, but we just didn't enjoy it very much. It was too salty and gritty. I think my skillet was too big because it came out more like a cornbread pancake! If you have a larger skillet, then I would suggest doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great recipe! It was my first time making cornbread and I was very happy with how it worked out. I did make a few changes - I used slightly less than 3/4 cup medium cornmeal, 1 tbsp plain flour, 1/4 cup coarse wholemeal flour, cut down salt to a scanty 1/2 tsp, added 1/2 tsp baking powder as well as the baking soda, and added 1/2 tbsp honey and half tbsp caster sugar. I also used a cast iron casserole dish and sunflower oil, as I didn't have a skillet or shortening. It came out a little lighter / fluffier i.e more cake like than I expected, but this was probably due to me fiddling around with the recipe! Either way, it was great, and a healthier option than many others out there! Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States