Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
we were really surprised! when we took it out of the oven, we thought we were gona have to find a different recipe, but we LOVED this! We were surprised that it was so flat, but it was nicely brown, the taste is out of this world!! It isn't sweet or cakey, and lots of reviewers say it was too salty, but we didn't find that to be true. It was flat enough that we couldn't slice it in half and butter it, so we put the butter on top,and it worked so well. it doesn't make a large amount, but we don't need a large amount. its a real keeper! We couldn't be happier! Its going to have a special place in our recipe file! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I needed something quick and without flour (gluten free). This fit the bill. It was a little too salty for my liking, so next time I would just add a bit less salt. Otherwise, I would say this is a good quick substitute for a cornbread with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This definitely is an "old-fashioned" version of cornbread, so don't expect it to be cake-like in texture or to rise as other recipes. I sprayed the bottom of my pan with Pam for baking and I added the melted butter to the mixture along with a Tbsp. of white sugar. Watch your baking time as it's done when it's a nice golden brown. Simple and delicious - perfect topped with butter or honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Love the simplicity of this recipe! I don't like that most cornbread recipes call for flour (and LOTS of flour at that), so I was pleasantly surprised to find this simple and yummy recipe. I made buttermilk with 1% milk and a little vinegar, cut my salt to 1/2 tsp., and added 1/2c whole corn, and this recipe was great! Dense, grainy, and delicious, and the whole corn adds a bit of a sweet taste to the hearty bread. Loved this recipe, will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Just what I needed- a cornbread without flour. I baked this batter as muffins, since I needed to freeze them ahead of time. Also added 1 T. Xylitol sweetener and 1/2 tsp. baking powder. (No idea why on the last ingredient!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I modified this recipe for a friend who's allergic to gluten and dairy by subbing soy milk for buttermilk. I had my doubts because the batter is so watery, but it did come together. If I ever make this again I will use vegetable oil instead of shortening and whisk everything together WELL before baking to avoid having an egg-y coating on the top of the bread. I like other cornbreads on this site much better, but this works if you can't have gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Love it. Real cornbread not like Jiffy. Also Gluten Free
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwperry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was far too salty. I was looking for a recipe that was not full of sugar and I will try it again just with half the amount of salt or less even. It was pretty crumbly, but I am guessing maybe it is supposed to be that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My grandson is allergic to wheat flour. Not only is this good tasting . But the best corn muffins ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice46
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We did not like this at all. Very bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States