Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
at last, cornbread WITHOUT flour. very important to use cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Finally, a cornbread recipe without sugar. I don't like sweet cornbread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
THIS is cornbread. Perfect recipe. I like my cornbread to be a bit sweet so I add a couple tablespoons of sugar, but that's just a personal preference. This recipe is great for those on gluten-free diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was just like the the cornbread my grandfather used to make! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Only thing I changed was the shortening. I did not have it so I used real butter. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michround

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
My husband is gluten-free and so I'm often limited when looking for good cornbread recipes. This was a good base, but I would suggest a few changes. I found this way to salty, so I cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar just to add a touch of flavor and softer crumb. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Just like Granny's and perfect for dunking into a bowl of beans, soup, or chili. I have tried all of the 'just add milk/water' mixes out there and nothing came out quite right. I finally decided to try this recipe. SO very glad I did. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
At last, a recipe for REAL Southern cornbread. This is the kind my grandmas used to make. I've been searching everywhere for a recipe, so I can make it myself, and this is it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
we were really surprised! when we took it out of the oven, we thought we were gona have to find a different recipe, but we LOVED this! We were surprised that it was so flat, but it was nicely brown, the taste is out of this world!! It isn't sweet or cakey, and lots of reviewers say it was too salty, but we didn't find that to be true. It was flat enough that we couldn't slice it in half and butter it, so we put the butter on top,and it worked so well. it doesn't make a large amount, but we don't need a large amount. its a real keeper! We couldn't be happier! Its going to have a special place in our recipe file! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I needed something quick and without flour (gluten free). This fit the bill. It was a little too salty for my liking, so next time I would just add a bit less salt. Otherwise, I would say this is a good quick substitute for a cornbread with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States