Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I have a hard time with cornbread recipies because I like my cornbread dense and grainy, but sweet. Most recipies are either sweet and cakey, or dense and salty or bland. The first batch I made followed the recipe exactly and was quite good. It was a little salty for my taste, but delicious drizzled with honey. Once I had a feel for the flavor of the original recipe, I set out on my own. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp sugar and a good squeeze of honey. It was just about ideal. If you try it this way though, watch it carefully as it bakes. The added sugars can make it brown very quickly. You may want to compensate by baking it in a larger, shallower pan so that the crust doesn't brown before the center is cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is the perfect cornbread! It's the kind, being from Arkansas, that I was raised on and have eaten my whole life. I can't stand the sweet, cakey cornbread that most people make today - this is REAL cornbread!! Gritty and dense and not sweet at all - excellent! This brings back great memories of my Grandma's cooking. Perfect with a bowl of black eyed peas and a big glass of iced tea! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a great skillet cornbread recipe. I used regular milk rather than butter milk and it was still great. This makes a dense bread with a crunch crust. I prefer corn bread this way as it was how I was raised. If you are looking for a sweet corn bread recipe this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I have been looking for a cornbread recipe like this forever!! I do not like sweet or cakey cornbread!! Umm this is soooooooo goood!!! I would definately use this recipe over and over! Yum yums!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Thank goodness, a non-sweet cornbread! My husband and I hate sweet, cakey cornbread and this was just like my mother-in-law used to make. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Absolutely delicious cornbread. Perfect to eat with a bowl of chili or to make cornbread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
great southern style cornbread, not cakey and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This was exactly what was stated, it was a dense grainy cornbread that was easy to prepare and came out exactly like she stated. I have to admit I was wanting a lighter cornbread and did not like this type. I do like to make it in a skillet so this was what tempted to make it. I won't prepare it again, the family did not like it. It was my own fault for not picking another variety to choose from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I made this cornbread with low fat margarine in a cake pan in the oven, and personally thought it tasted great warm, but my family didn't like it as much as the sweeter corn muffins I made from a different recipe. I liked it, though, and will make it for myself again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This recipe was great! Exactly what I have been looking for. I don't like the "cake like" texture of cornbread I prefer the grainy texture of the good old fashioned kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States