Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This was exactly what was stated, it was a dense grainy cornbread that was easy to prepare and came out exactly like she stated. I have to admit I was wanting a lighter cornbread and did not like this type. I do like to make it in a skillet so this was what tempted to make it. I won't prepare it again, the family did not like it. It was my own fault for not picking another variety to choose from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is the perfect cornbread! It's the kind, being from Arkansas, that I was raised on and have eaten my whole life. I can't stand the sweet, cakey cornbread that most people make today - this is REAL cornbread!! Gritty and dense and not sweet at all - excellent! This brings back great memories of my Grandma's cooking. Perfect with a bowl of black eyed peas and a big glass of iced tea! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
great southern style cornbread, not cakey and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
very authentic, but a bit too salty. might have been my fault, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I made this cornbread with low fat margarine in a cake pan in the oven, and personally thought it tasted great warm, but my family didn't like it as much as the sweeter corn muffins I made from a different recipe. I liked it, though, and will make it for myself again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I have been looking for a cornbread recipe like this forever!! I do not like sweet or cakey cornbread!! Umm this is soooooooo goood!!! I would definately use this recipe over and over! Yum yums!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This recipe was great! Exactly what I have been looking for. I don't like the "cake like" texture of cornbread I prefer the grainy texture of the good old fashioned kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Absolutely delicious cornbread. Perfect to eat with a bowl of chili or to make cornbread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Thank goodness, a non-sweet cornbread! My husband and I hate sweet, cakey cornbread and this was just like my mother-in-law used to make. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is the real thing. Thanks for sharing--this is what I remember from childhood in rural Georgia, only I remember that my mom and grandmother didn't use the egg. Wondering if I could just leave it out of this one. Would appreciate it if someone could post a recipe for egg-less cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States