Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
this recipe turned out great! when i make chili for dinner i like to have cornbread go with it and the sweet stuff seems to make the chili taste funny. this recipe was perfect for it. the only thing i changed was to add about 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Mine was very shallow in the pan and stuck like mad to the cast iron skillet. Taste was dead-on though. Next time I'll double it and grease the pan more generously beforehand. I also cut the salt in half. REALLY GOOD CORNBREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Fantastic! Made exactly the way the recipe described it, but I used a slightly larger cast iron pan (10 inch) because that is what I had. I had to watch it very carefully, and it cooked up in about 20 minutes. My boyfriend lived in the south for many years and declared it "perfect".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great, easy recipe. I've made it many times and love it. That said, HALVE THE SALT!! Sorry but it's MUCH too salty for my taste, as written. You can always add salt at the table. Other than that, I've substituted whole milk for the buttermilk many times, and I've always made it with butter rather than shortening (I rarely have buttermilk and never shortening) and I don't notice any difference. I've also added frozen corn and honey to the batter, and thought both were great additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Just a note on the directions: Baking at 450 for 30 to 40 minutes isn't right, especially since it's so thin. Mine was ready to catch fire at the 27 minute mark when I--thank goodness--checked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very nice, quick and simple recipe. I cut down the salt to 1/2 a tsp and cooked it for only 13mins before it was done. I also used ricotta cheese rather than shorting to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
thick, this was the real thing, I added sugar, and self rising flour to this recipes, and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I really like that this recipe has no sugar. I used stone-ground cornmeal and reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon, based on other reviews. I used clarified butter instead of shortening and baked it in a divided cast-iron pan, so I got 8 wedges. It was done in about 12 minutes. I discovered that if it bakes too long, the cornbread deflates. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this tonight and it was the texture and corn taste that I was looking for. It was too salty though, for me. I baked it for the lower time and had some sticking and it was very brown (no burnt taste), but my oven temp may have been off by a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Excellent! I used plain soy milk, rather than butter milk plus one TB raw honey! It was a little salty for my taste so I think next time I will use a little less. Since I cant eat dairy or wheat I will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States