Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I would have given this another 1/2 star but this site doesn't allow it! This is a great recipe and does and is just what it says. If you want sweet and cakey, then go to another recipe. Enjoy with chili, bbq ribs, fried chicken and all kinds of great southern dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
FINALLY, a good southern buttermilk cornbread recipe without sugar! Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My skillet was too big for this recipe, so I lined a muffin pan instead. The batter was VERY liquidy, so I made 4 muffins according to recipe, then added 1/2 cup of flour, made 4 muffins with that, then added another 1/4 cup to the remaining batter and made 4 of those....overall the 4 with the most flour came out best, but these were not tasty. They also stuck to the paper liners. Not planning on making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made mine in a 12", rather than a 9" skillet. The bread was thinner, but still great! I also added 1/2 cup of frozen corn to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
While the recipe isn't that bad, I find that the pic is misleading of the final product. This was alittle too dense and grainy for my liking, and it ended up very very flat. I'm not sure if it was user error, or what but I was not happy with the looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Union Gap, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
this recipe turned out great! when i make chili for dinner i like to have cornbread go with it and the sweet stuff seems to make the chili taste funny. this recipe was perfect for it. the only thing i changed was to add about 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Mine was very shallow in the pan and stuck like mad to the cast iron skillet. Taste was dead-on though. Next time I'll double it and grease the pan more generously beforehand. I also cut the salt in half. REALLY GOOD CORNBREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Fantastic! Made exactly the way the recipe described it, but I used a slightly larger cast iron pan (10 inch) because that is what I had. I had to watch it very carefully, and it cooked up in about 20 minutes. My boyfriend lived in the south for many years and declared it "perfect".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great, easy recipe. I've made it many times and love it. That said, HALVE THE SALT!! Sorry but it's MUCH too salty for my taste, as written. You can always add salt at the table. Other than that, I've substituted whole milk for the buttermilk many times, and I've always made it with butter rather than shortening (I rarely have buttermilk and never shortening) and I don't notice any difference. I've also added frozen corn and honey to the batter, and thought both were great additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Just a note on the directions: Baking at 450 for 30 to 40 minutes isn't right, especially since it's so thin. Mine was ready to catch fire at the 27 minute mark when I--thank goodness--checked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States