Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I really didn't think this was going to work. I usually add flour to my stone ground cornmeal recipes. I also thought the heat would be too high. My husband is a diabetic so I decided to go for it. I took a peek at it during cooking & it looked like it was a weird boiling mess. But, I'll admit I ate half the pan. Kept coming back for more. Really liked it. I even did the vinegar, skim milk trick since I didn't have any buttermilk. Can't wait to try it with buttermilk. I also only had butter flavored Shortening so I used that. It's a simple recipe that I really liked. I did take it out at about 25 minutes. It was started to get really brown around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
needs sugar and I don't know about the baking soda, should be baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was very good - I was very happy to find a tasty cornbread recipe that wasn't sweet! ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This is the real southern cornbread recipe,delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Finally, a true southern cornbread recipe that isn't a sweet cake-like bread. If I wanted sweet bread, I'd bake a cake... This recipe goes wonderfully with pinto beans as well as chili. Nothing like using fresh stone ground meal as well...YUMMY!!! For those who claimed it didn't have any flavor. Did you use the BUTTERMILK??? That's where the flavor comes from. Another thing, this is a very small batch, bake it in a small skillet, not a 9 inch one..more like a 6 inch cast iron. Fresh stone ground cornmeal doesn't have baking soda/baking powder/salt.....Most old-fashion/seasoned bakers knows that. It should have been added to the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This is fantastic! Perfect. If you add sugar and honey to it you deserve to have it scorch. When did people decide that cornbread needed to be sweet and cake-like? This is a also gluten-free recipe and very much like the cornbread my Tennessee side of the family make. Thank you for sharing. Nelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
30 minutes was too long. The part that wasn't burned tasted good though. I substituted plain yogurt for the buttermilk and added 1/4 cup of honey. Next time I'll just try 20 minutes. Otherwise not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is almost certainly the recipe my grandma used. She said if it's got sugar, it's CAKE!! Of course she substituted bacon grease for the shortening...as will I...but a million thanks for the true southern cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I would have given this another 1/2 star but this site doesn't allow it! This is a great recipe and does and is just what it says. If you want sweet and cakey, then go to another recipe. Enjoy with chili, bbq ribs, fried chicken and all kinds of great southern dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
FINALLY, a good southern buttermilk cornbread recipe without sugar! Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States