Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Good skillet cornbread. We like savory & grainy when it somes to cornbread as opposed to sweet & cakey, so this was a good choice for us. I love cornbread from a skillet with that crispy bottom and edges. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I used less salt and baking powder not soda. It was good but, 30 min. was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Standard cornbread. Exactly what I was looking for, without any additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
On the second try I reduced the salt to 1/4 teaspoon and I added 1/4 cup of sugar. I made two seperate batches and poured them in a cast iron pan to bake. Baking powder not baking soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Thanks for this! I like the sweet, cakey one, too, but it's not really cornbread, is it? This is literally just like Mother made, in the iron skillet I still have !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I was raised this way ,this is my basic recipe fine as is but i jazz it up with roasted/raw peppers and or corn or whatever is on hand,also add a couple tbls flour for a little rise and just cuz,now making one with poblano roasted peppers and maybe baby corn xchopped up would onion be any good in thsi.I had passed on this recipe when last time i came here looking for a recipe with canned cream corn I especially bought last time at grocery. well i had no recipe to find this time and had the creamed corn I lacked last time. This recipe is so simple, easy to remeber, and it tastes good,as soem lady commented on the lack of baking powder in the recipe and addition of baking soda, and gave recipe a 21/2 probablly becuase she did not follow the recipe and did use the baking powder stead a soda,The batter is thinnest i ever seen but cooked up fine in skillet in ovenI overcooked it but still edible as it wasnt the golden i like rather the browenden over muched. so the lower time scale is recommened not over 30 minutes and start checking at 25 or so.. so abny one got a recipe for corn bread with the creamed corn in it? god knows that disgusting stuff isnt or couldnt be used for much else could it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Perfect recipe if you're looking for a "not sweet" cornbread. I made mine in a large piece of stoneware so it was thin and cooked up very quickly. Was very tasty with butter and/or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I really didn't think this was going to work. I usually add flour to my stone ground cornmeal recipes. I also thought the heat would be too high. My husband is a diabetic so I decided to go for it. I took a peek at it during cooking & it looked like it was a weird boiling mess. But, I'll admit I ate half the pan. Kept coming back for more. Really liked it. I even did the vinegar, skim milk trick since I didn't have any buttermilk. Can't wait to try it with buttermilk. I also only had butter flavored Shortening so I used that. It's a simple recipe that I really liked. I did take it out at about 25 minutes. It was started to get really brown around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
needs sugar and I don't know about the baking soda, should be baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was very good - I was very happy to find a tasty cornbread recipe that wasn't sweet! ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States