Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Love it. Real cornbread not like Jiffy. Also Gluten Free
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwperry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was far too salty. I was looking for a recipe that was not full of sugar and I will try it again just with half the amount of salt or less even. It was pretty crumbly, but I am guessing maybe it is supposed to be that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My grandson is allergic to wheat flour. Not only is this good tasting . But the best corn muffins ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice46
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We did not like this at all. Very bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Great recipe! Easy and fun to prepare. I'm surprised how many guests prefer this old style cornbread to the sweet fluffy variety. Be sure to use a fine-gring cornmeal. The popular medium-grind cornmeal is too coarse and results in gritty cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My DH loves this kind of cornbread. My personal preference is for the sweet, cakey kind. All-in-all a good recipe and I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
If you use regular milk rather than buttermilk, make sure to use baking powder instead of the baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is the recipe I've been looking for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was a great cornbread with some of my personal modifications (some because of lack of items on hand): 1 TBS of sugar added Substituted shortening with "Smart Balance” butter spread ¼ tsp salt I used regular corn meat along with just a regular 8”x8” square baking pan. Because of the added sugar, I lowered the oven temperature to 400o and only cooked 25 minutes. My husband thought it was the best cornbread he had ever tasted. I tried this recipe because we just found out my husband was allergic to wheat (after 50+years). Thank you for this wonderful "wheat free" cornbread. My next venture..."wheat free" banana bread. I'll let you know what I come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Sandy
Home Town: Redford, Missouri, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Didn't have a bad flavor, but it just wasn't what my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by handgrenade

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States