Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is exactly the kind of cornbread I need in my life! Raised in southern Mississippi and I don't believe in sweet cornbread. The only thing that I'm going to do differently next time is use butter instead of the shortening. But it's great with shortening too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is entirely misleading, usually cornbread is baked at 350. I thought 450 was a little high but I tried it anyway, it turned out burnt and totally flat - didn't rise at all except on big bubble in the middle. It was a waste of a perfectly good cup of milk and cornflour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Love, love it. Just like what I grew up eating in the Deep South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
As written, the fundamentals of the recipe are there. The baking instructions, however, are misleading. 450 degrees for 30-40 minutes is too hot and too long - resulting in a blackened, burnt crust. Other cornbread recipes bake at 350-400 degrees for up to 30 minutes. Make this recipe, but watch it carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deathmagus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Perfect cornbread - not sweet and cakey but hearty. Also, it's an easy gluten-free bread to have with dinner. We have made this many times and there are rarely any leftovers. It would also be a good cornbread to use for stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was a really good cornbread. I liked it better than regular. I didn't have plain yogurt so used plain Greek yogurt. You don't even taste it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe to a tee and it ended up flat as a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Dense cornbread, just the way I like it. Really great and truly gluten free. Easy to make as well. Kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
very tasty but the salt amount is very high so i wont use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
for glutenfree version I used gluten free cornmeal and added a tsp of xantum gum and 2 tbsp of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States