Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 27, 2003
far too salty for me--made a little 8" round, and it's been a week and no one has touched it since the initial taste. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I have a hard time with cornbread recipies because I like my cornbread dense and grainy, but sweet. Most recipies are either sweet and cakey, or dense and salty or bland. The first batch I made followed the recipe exactly and was quite good. It was a little salty for my taste, but delicious drizzled with honey. Once I had a feel for the flavor of the original recipe, I set out on my own. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp sugar and a good squeeze of honey. It was just about ideal. If you try it this way though, watch it carefully as it bakes. The added sugars can make it brown very quickly. You may want to compensate by baking it in a larger, shallower pan so that the crust doesn't brown before the center is cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was a satisfying accompaniment to a pot of spicy chili. (You don't want to be eating sweet, fluffy cake masquerading as cornbread with stuff like that!) It was really fast to throw together, too. I think I may add a bit less salt next time. Also, this only took about 15 minutes to bake in my oven, so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Cornbread like my Great-Gran made...Southern to the bottom of the iron skillet! If you've been passed an iron skillet from the family this is the recipe that will make it shine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I usually prefer the cakier, though not necessarily sweeter, cornbread, but I chose this recipe because it contained no regular flour. My husband has sever allergies and is trying to go gluten-free. We did not like it. It was easy and true to its description, but just not to our taste. If I do it again I will probably add some creamed corn, cheese, and maybe some onion to liven it up some and cut the grainy density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a great skillet cornbread recipe. I used regular milk rather than butter milk and it was still great. This makes a dense bread with a crunch crust. I prefer corn bread this way as it was how I was raised. If you are looking for a sweet corn bread recipe this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Very easy and very good. I used a stainless skillet so it took less time to cook. My husband and I both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is the real thing. Thanks for sharing--this is what I remember from childhood in rural Georgia, only I remember that my mom and grandmother didn't use the egg. Wondering if I could just leave it out of this one. Would appreciate it if someone could post a recipe for egg-less cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Thank goodness, a non-sweet cornbread! My husband and I hate sweet, cakey cornbread and this was just like my mother-in-law used to make. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Absolutely delicious cornbread. Perfect to eat with a bowl of chili or to make cornbread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States