Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I like the idea of baking the bread in the skillet, but the bread itself didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I am a southern gal. But somehow this cornbread just didn't do it for me. I thought that because it didn't have flour or sugar, I could count on some homestyle cornbread. It was not what my Granny makes. It was not what my father-in-law makes. Way too flat and dry. I don't like sweet and cakey but this extreme opposite is not much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I wanted to make this low fat, so I used 2 egg whites instead of 1 egg. Because other reviewers said this cornbread didn't rise very much, I whipped the egg whites until they formed stiff peaks; then I folded in the other ingredients to the egg whites. I liked the results--the cornbread wasn't as dense as some cornbreads that don't have flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Serve ASAP after cooking. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
i loved this cornbread. just like my grandfather used to make every morning on his virginia farm. however, salt does need to be reduced to 1/2 t, and i used skim milk and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I had to make this recipe twice because the first time I thought I did something wrong but it doesn't rise much and the other reviews are right about it being way to salty and I don't think my husband has ever thought that about anything. I will not make again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
far too salty for me--made a little 8" round, and it's been a week and no one has touched it since the initial taste. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I have a hard time with cornbread recipies because I like my cornbread dense and grainy, but sweet. Most recipies are either sweet and cakey, or dense and salty or bland. The first batch I made followed the recipe exactly and was quite good. It was a little salty for my taste, but delicious drizzled with honey. Once I had a feel for the flavor of the original recipe, I set out on my own. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp sugar and a good squeeze of honey. It was just about ideal. If you try it this way though, watch it carefully as it bakes. The added sugars can make it brown very quickly. You may want to compensate by baking it in a larger, shallower pan so that the crust doesn't brown before the center is cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was a satisfying accompaniment to a pot of spicy chili. (You don't want to be eating sweet, fluffy cake masquerading as cornbread with stuff like that!) It was really fast to throw together, too. I think I may add a bit less salt next time. Also, this only took about 15 minutes to bake in my oven, so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Cornbread like my Great-Gran made...Southern to the bottom of the iron skillet! If you've been passed an iron skillet from the family this is the recipe that will make it shine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States