Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Cooking time was too long in this recipe, only took about 25 minutes. I didn't like the idea of using shortening so I substitued butter but you must watch the melting butter very carefully as not to burn it. I didn't mix the butter into the mixture, rather just poured the batter into the melted butter. This was OK but think a recipe with flour, sugar, and butter is best for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Having read the other reviews, I made this with only 1/2 tsp of salt. This cornbread recipe has its place, which is to serve with chili. It is not the slightly sweet, spongy cornbread you might be used to. This is strictly for putting at the bottom of the bowl and then ladling the chili over it. Used that way, it is fine. I recommend making it in an 8-inch cast iron skillet (not 9-inch), and checking it after 15 minutes in the over. It does cook more quickly than the printed recipe calls for. The 1/2 tsp of salt is just right. I would not put sugar in it...it's not that kind of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Thanks for this wonderful recipe...so quick and easy and lots of flavor. I like the fact that it is baked in a skillet which adds a little crispyness. I used olive oil and regular cornmeal since I didn't have stoneground cornmeal in the house but it still was delicious. Bet its really good with stoneground. Beans, cornbread, fried potatoes, greens and of course, white onions quartered...Can't be beat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting whole milk for the buttermilk. I thought it was just o.k. My husband said that it had a spongy texture and he would only give it a 3.5. It was super flat and I guess I'd rather not have it that way. I cooked this in an iron skillet in my oven and it only took 15 min. I'm glad that I checked on it b/c a few more minutes and it would have been burnt all over. The outside was plenty done but the inside wasn't. I think the only thing that made this kinda tasty for us was the butter I spread on top of it! I probably won't make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiceSteele
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This is a very traditional cornbread recipe. Nothing fancy, but quite delicious. If cornbread makes you think of Jiffy...you probably won't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was disappointing. I love the idea of it being very simple with limited dish dirtying.. but the flavor wasn't what I was expecting. Too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
not very good. too salty. i'd omit the salt in this recipe next time. i'm sure the baking soda adds a salty flavor as does the buttermilk. i only cooked if for half the time and the bottom was almost burnt. good thing i checked it halfway through! i've definately had better cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I like the idea of baking the bread in the skillet, but the bread itself didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I am a southern gal. But somehow this cornbread just didn't do it for me. I thought that because it didn't have flour or sugar, I could count on some homestyle cornbread. It was not what my Granny makes. It was not what my father-in-law makes. Way too flat and dry. I don't like sweet and cakey but this extreme opposite is not much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I wanted to make this low fat, so I used 2 egg whites instead of 1 egg. Because other reviewers said this cornbread didn't rise very much, I whipped the egg whites until they formed stiff peaks; then I folded in the other ingredients to the egg whites. I liked the results--the cornbread wasn't as dense as some cornbreads that don't have flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States