Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
original recipe is a little to wet and eggy for us. i use 3/4 of an egg and its really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleerae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I hate to give a bad review, but this did not turn out at all. I double checked the recipe and I followed everything, I didn't read the reviews about the time and I wish I would have. I baked it for 30 minutes in my cast iron skillet, it did not raise at all, not one bit. It was also very dark brown on the sides and bottom. It was not even tastable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Lilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is the kind of cornbread my grandma makes. She says cornbread is not suppose to be sweet. Anyhow I use this for my cornbread stuffing and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmalltownJar
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Quick and easy cornbread just like Grandma used to make. Hubby loves it with pinto beans. Don't have cast iron, but comes out just fine in a loaf pan. Thanks! Made a healthier version by using milk and leaving out the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I did not have buttermilk so I mixed 1 cup of skimmed milk with 1 T. of vinegar, and I also added 3/4 cup of flour. Like many others, I also only used 1/2 t. of salt. Then, I added about 1 T. of oil to the recipe, too. I did not let the shortening melt in the pan. I instead used a 9" cake pan, and greased that with oil. Then I poured the cornbread mixture. I did not mix the mixture with the oil on the pan. My cornbread was ready in about 20 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe Nancy! As per other reviewers, I didn't cook the bread but about 25 minutes and I reduced the salt by half. The only other changes I made were to add about a tablespoon and a half of Masa Harina (I love that stuff) and a couple tablespoons of honey. Just based on taste this recipe is certainly five star but it stuck terribly to my pan, I will be making this very soon and will try more shortening. My only other complaint was that the recipe didn't rise as much as I wouldve liked, but that was probably my fault; I used self rising cornmeal so I left out the baking soda (which I was out of anyway).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I should have read the reviews. I loved the texture and grittyness, just like my Granna used to make, but this was too salty for me. I will make this again, but I'll cut the salt to 1/2 tsp. as others have done. Didn't seem to rise vey much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bantry, County Cork, Ireland
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this to go with some vegan chili I made and it went nicely with it. As advertised, this wasn't a sweet or cakey cornbread, but it was rather chewy and grainy. I kind of liked it like that actually, as this was the first time I've had a non-sweetened cornbread before. Mine was done in 20 minutes, so watch yours carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was just OK. It DEFINITELY doesnt need to cook any more than 20-25 minutes. I didnt find it salty, just tasteless. Im a good ol'Southern girl from VA, but this wasnt for me. I'm going to put the rest UNDER the chili and eat it that way... great suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Cooking time was too long in this recipe, only took about 25 minutes. I didn't like the idea of using shortening so I substitued butter but you must watch the melting butter very carefully as not to burn it. I didn't mix the butter into the mixture, rather just poured the batter into the melted butter. This was OK but think a recipe with flour, sugar, and butter is best for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States