Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I should have read the reviews. I loved the texture and grittyness, just like my Granna used to make, but this was too salty for me. I will make this again, but I'll cut the salt to 1/2 tsp. as others have done. Didn't seem to rise vey much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bantry, County Cork, Ireland
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this to go with some vegan chili I made and it went nicely with it. As advertised, this wasn't a sweet or cakey cornbread, but it was rather chewy and grainy. I kind of liked it like that actually, as this was the first time I've had a non-sweetened cornbread before. Mine was done in 20 minutes, so watch yours carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was just OK. It DEFINITELY doesnt need to cook any more than 20-25 minutes. I didnt find it salty, just tasteless. Im a good ol'Southern girl from VA, but this wasnt for me. I'm going to put the rest UNDER the chili and eat it that way... great suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Cooking time was too long in this recipe, only took about 25 minutes. I didn't like the idea of using shortening so I substitued butter but you must watch the melting butter very carefully as not to burn it. I didn't mix the butter into the mixture, rather just poured the batter into the melted butter. This was OK but think a recipe with flour, sugar, and butter is best for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Having read the other reviews, I made this with only 1/2 tsp of salt. This cornbread recipe has its place, which is to serve with chili. It is not the slightly sweet, spongy cornbread you might be used to. This is strictly for putting at the bottom of the bowl and then ladling the chili over it. Used that way, it is fine. I recommend making it in an 8-inch cast iron skillet (not 9-inch), and checking it after 15 minutes in the over. It does cook more quickly than the printed recipe calls for. The 1/2 tsp of salt is just right. I would not put sugar in it...it's not that kind of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Thanks for this wonderful recipe...so quick and easy and lots of flavor. I like the fact that it is baked in a skillet which adds a little crispyness. I used olive oil and regular cornmeal since I didn't have stoneground cornmeal in the house but it still was delicious. Bet its really good with stoneground. Beans, cornbread, fried potatoes, greens and of course, white onions quartered...Can't be beat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting whole milk for the buttermilk. I thought it was just o.k. My husband said that it had a spongy texture and he would only give it a 3.5. It was super flat and I guess I'd rather not have it that way. I cooked this in an iron skillet in my oven and it only took 15 min. I'm glad that I checked on it b/c a few more minutes and it would have been burnt all over. The outside was plenty done but the inside wasn't. I think the only thing that made this kinda tasty for us was the butter I spread on top of it! I probably won't make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiceSteele
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This is a very traditional cornbread recipe. Nothing fancy, but quite delicious. If cornbread makes you think of Jiffy...you probably won't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was disappointing. I love the idea of it being very simple with limited dish dirtying.. but the flavor wasn't what I was expecting. Too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
not very good. too salty. i'd omit the salt in this recipe next time. i'm sure the baking soda adds a salty flavor as does the buttermilk. i only cooked if for half the time and the bottom was almost burnt. good thing i checked it halfway through! i've definately had better cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States