Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made cornbread this way all my life... the TRICK, is to add a 1/2 tsp kosher salt! Also, DO NOT use shortening - only bacon grease. (If you don't hear a sizzle when you pour the batter into the skillet, your pan isn't hot enough.) Remove as soon as possible onto a serving plate or flip it into a glass pie pan, otherwise, it will continue to "cook" as it cools! And since my daughter is gluten-sensitive only when consuming large amounts, I am still free to add my 1 Tbsp. AP flour, which does give it a lighter rise. I am always asked to bring my "skillet cornbread" to functions and gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I love skillet cornbread and this was a good recipe. I used whole milk instead of butter milk and bacon grease instead of shortening. Bacon grease add a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was delicious cornbread. Not sweet in anyway, which is what I'm used to in cornbread. That said, the directions are completely nutso. I used a 10-inch iron skillet, adjusted all the ingredients to 1.5 the called-for amounts (i.e. 1.5 cups cornmeal instead of 1 cup), and baked at 350 for 23 minutes. Came out perfectly cooked and just slightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Downright awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Just like the recipe I learned from my grandmother. This is perfect if you can find the coarse, stone ground cornmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is exactly the kind of cornbread I need in my life! Raised in southern Mississippi and I don't believe in sweet cornbread. The only thing that I'm going to do differently next time is use butter instead of the shortening. But it's great with shortening too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is entirely misleading, usually cornbread is baked at 350. I thought 450 was a little high but I tried it anyway, it turned out burnt and totally flat - didn't rise at all except on big bubble in the middle. It was a waste of a perfectly good cup of milk and cornflour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Love, love it. Just like what I grew up eating in the Deep South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
As written, the fundamentals of the recipe are there. The baking instructions, however, are misleading. 450 degrees for 30-40 minutes is too hot and too long - resulting in a blackened, burnt crust. Other cornbread recipes bake at 350-400 degrees for up to 30 minutes. Make this recipe, but watch it carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deathmagus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Perfect cornbread - not sweet and cakey but hearty. Also, it's an easy gluten-free bread to have with dinner. We have made this many times and there are rarely any leftovers. It would also be a good cornbread to use for stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States