Cornbread Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I subbed homemade cornbread (Melt 1/2c butter,add 1T sugar & dissolved. Whisked in 5eggs.Combined 1c buttermilk & 1/2t bsoda.Combined the two. Poured over 1c cornmeal, 1c flour, 1t salt. Greased 8x8, 30 min) Pureed two slices fresh white bread & combined with crumbled cornbread. Sauteed 1c onion, 3/4c celery. Added 1t sage, 1/2t black pepper, 1T parsley. Added that & 3.5c homemade chicken broth, 1can cr chix & 1/2c half&half. I forgot to add the additional eggs. :/ Could it be better with those eggs? I'll have to make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I would less eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
this is what I have been looking for. my husband always cook the dinner and I did the deserts, but he passed in 2009 so the girls want me to do it all. thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
SLAP YOUR MAMA ...IT WAS GREAT very moist let when it comes out of the oven let it sit there for 10ish mins to set will be a keeper for me !!... to the one who shared this recipe, thank you... love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendelin Hyde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I LOOOOOOVE this recipe makes a moist dressing. Last thanksgiving was my first time making dressing and since i'm a vegetarian I substituted chicken broth for vegetable broth and used cream of mushroom soup, maybe 2 cans? however, it was delicious, i'm just happy I found the recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe was exactly what I was seeking. I used too much cream of chicken. That was my fault. I didn't want to waste the leftover after cutting the recipe in half. It was a little too moist as a result. lesson learned. The next time I will not make that mistake. This dish will be a mainstay of future holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Northern
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
It came together and set well, but I thought it needed more flavor. I added quite a bit of poultry seasoning and turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this yesterday. I did make a couple of small changes. I used my recipe to make the cornbread and only used 1 can of chicken broth plus an equal amount of homemade turkey broth. I also added 3 chopped up boild eggs. Turned out nice and moist and very tastey. I also ommited the sugar in my cornbread because this dressing needs to be savory not sweet. I did add sage about 3/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Exactly what I was hoping for! Perfect. I changed the soup to cream of celery (I just like it better), and added a teaspoon of sage. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this yesterday for Christmas and it was pretty good! However, I added 2 cans of cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 4 raw eggs (makes dressing creamier). I also used buttermilk in the place of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States