Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Used leftover brined chicken from Trader Joe's plus onions, carrots, peas and potatoes cooked with it. Used cream of potato soup because it was in the pantry. Added a bit of milk based on reviews I'd read. Also added Herbes de Provance, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper and garlic powder. For the cornbread used less milk than called for on this recipe but more than 1/3 cup. Three adults ate the whole pie and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Wallick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I was all set to make this and discovered that my chicken was bad so I had to improvise which I normally don't like to do. So instead, I used one pound of hamburger, a can of condensed cream of potatoe soup and mixed vegetables. I don't like to change recipes the first time through but this sounded good and I really wanted to try it. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made the dish on Sunday, it was gone Monday. I shared with 3 other people who were raving about the sweetness of the cornbread paired with the chicken potpie filling. Aside from cooking the chicken, the dish was super easy to make and it was so good. The only that I would like to point out is that the recipe calls for more milk to be added to the cornbread mix than what is listed on the box. In my opinion, the extra milk made the cornbread batter too liquid so it didnt brown like I wanted it to. But aside from that, it was quick, easy and good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Ever since I first tried this recipe 6 months ago, it has been a family favorite. I made some modifications(as every good cook does) to fit my family so the recipe doesn't really look the same. I doubled the recipe for my family of 5,I used 2-12oz jars of turkey gravy instead of the chicken soup and added sour cream. I heated the gravy and sour cream on the stove added the chicken that I had cooked in butter with diced garlic and a little lemon pepper seasoning. when the sour cream/gravy mix is heated and bubbly I added a blend of broccoli, carrots, and peas. I put the mix into a 9x13 baking dish and topped it with the corn bread mixture. I Baked for about 20-25minutes (uncovered)until the cornbread is golden. My kids, who are very picky eaters, love this recipe. Sometimes I let them decide which veggies to add.Sometimes I sprinkle Swiss cheese over the top of the cornbread, Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I tweaked the recipe a bit. I cooked the chicken in butter, a tablespoon of minced garlic, & a sprinkle of pepper. I also added more cheddar cheese, just enough to cover the chicken/corn/soup mixture, & then I sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on top of that. Tasted amazing! My kids loved it & my fiance ate over half the pie! This is definitely going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars as it's "good". The basic recipe is a great foundation to make this awesome. The cornbread topping is easy and tasty. I used creamed corn, carrots and peas as the veggies. Now, I think, generally speaking, chicken pot pie is bland. It's Good, but won't make your taste buds dance. I added Essence of Emeril, 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes, 1 tsp black pepper..which helped a little. Ended up putting hot sauce on it even after serving. My next try with this recipe is to make a TexMex version. Add taco seasoning to the chicken, add a can of drained Rotel Tomatos etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
It seems like too much milk (3/4 cup) for the corn muffin mix. I had a mess with the very thin batter running over the pie plate. I removed what I could then started again with another box of muffin mix and just 1/3 cup milk. It was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDHILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I used the topping for my own pot pie. I put it a larger, shallow corning ware dish insted of pie plate and there was plenty of corn muffin to cover it. My son really enjoyed it. Much quicker than making a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was delicious! My husband and I ate every last bite! I slow-cooked the chicken using bag n season and natures seasoning for flavor. I used half a can of corn and half a can of green beans. I also seasoned it well before cooking (salt, pepper, nature's seasoning). I used Marie Calendars corn bread mix, but made it as the recipe said...except I added a large pre-sauteed jalapeno to the corn bread mixture. It was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty! What more can you ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States