Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I tweaked the recipe a bit. I cooked the chicken in butter, a tablespoon of minced garlic, & a sprinkle of pepper. I also added more cheddar cheese, just enough to cover the chicken/corn/soup mixture, & then I sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on top of that. Tasted amazing! My kids loved it & my fiance ate over half the pie! This is definitely going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars as it's "good". The basic recipe is a great foundation to make this awesome. The cornbread topping is easy and tasty. I used creamed corn, carrots and peas as the veggies. Now, I think, generally speaking, chicken pot pie is bland. It's Good, but won't make your taste buds dance. I added Essence of Emeril, 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes, 1 tsp black pepper..which helped a little. Ended up putting hot sauce on it even after serving. My next try with this recipe is to make a TexMex version. Add taco seasoning to the chicken, add a can of drained Rotel Tomatos etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
It seems like too much milk (3/4 cup) for the corn muffin mix. I had a mess with the very thin batter running over the pie plate. I removed what I could then started again with another box of muffin mix and just 1/3 cup milk. It was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDHILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I used the topping for my own pot pie. I put it a larger, shallow corning ware dish insted of pie plate and there was plenty of corn muffin to cover it. My son really enjoyed it. Much quicker than making a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was delicious! My husband and I ate every last bite! I slow-cooked the chicken using bag n season and natures seasoning for flavor. I used half a can of corn and half a can of green beans. I also seasoned it well before cooking (salt, pepper, nature's seasoning). I used Marie Calendars corn bread mix, but made it as the recipe said...except I added a large pre-sauteed jalapeno to the corn bread mixture. It was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty! What more can you ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Pure comfort food! After looking over the reviews, I decided to replace the 8 ounce can of corn with a 14.5 ounce can of cream corn (to add more liquid). I also added sauteed onion and garlic to the chicken. My choice of cornbread mix (Jiffy) added sweetness to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is really good. I've never had a pot pie with a cornbread topping. It was quite a change and quite good. I used left over Thanksgiving turkey. I bought cauliflower and broccoli for Thanksgiving dinner and didn't use all of it so I added a bag of frozen beggies to the mix and I used fat free soup. Out of curiosity I made it as directed the first time, but the second time I made it, I added 1/2 cup drained salsa, some shredded PepperJack along with the Cheddar Cheese, plus a table spoon of taco seasoning to the turkey mixture. For the veggies I used half a can of drained and rinsed black beans and the corn cut from 2 ears of corn. Wow. both ways were great and I will absolutely be making it again...both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was pretty good and easy to make! I had 1/2 a roasted chicken to use up, this fit the bill for that. I also used a whole 15 oz. can of corn, it worked out fine. Over all, a pretty good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The filling was very bland so in order to make it a 5 star I added 3 minced garlic cloves, some garlic powder, parsley, and pepper. I substituted the corn with peas and carrots for some color. I used campbell's cream of chicken and mushroom so I can poison my family with more veggies. I love my version better. The filling to bread ratio was half and half. Next time I will add more filling. Thanks Campbell for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States