Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NatalieR
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I followed a few suggestions from others by adding a few more vegetables, salt, pepper and taco seasoning. Easy and a hit at my house. Will make again. I added a bit more cheese on the top and topped it with sour cream. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
5 star based on alterations because it is a base recipe and very flexible. Used fresh roasted chicken breasts - I added a can of low fat mushroom soup. And I feel this important: chopped celery, onion and garlic and added to frozen pea/ carrots - all of this i sautéed in butter before adding to chicken. I seasoned with salt, pepper, a little garlic powder and herbs de providence( in lieu of poultry season) this came out fantastically and I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Gilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by callie
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Okay, so I know this is a Campbell's recipe, but I didn't have the soup on hand, so I sort of just used the recipe as a jumping off point for what I ended up making. I substituted the soup with what is essentially gravy (like chicken-a-la-king base). I didn't have corn, either, and I like lots of vegetables. So, I added fresh potatoes, carrots, onions and frozen peas. I softened the carrots and potatoes in the microwave while the onions were being sauteed in olive oil. Added the peas when the onions were almost translucent (just to defrost them). Turned off the heat and mixed in the carrots and potatoes. The chicken I used was frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts. After defrosting, I tenderized and seasoned them with salt, pepper, dried parsley and garlic powder. Then cooked them in olive oil over medium-low heat until just lightly browned. The rest was prepared according to the recipe, except for the omission of cheese (I just wasn't in the mood for it). Though next time, I think I'll divide the cornbread mix and partially pre-bake half of it in the pie plate so that we have a bottom crust. The top was pretty thick, and I think it'd be nice if the bread was a bit more mixed in with the filling. So this rating is for what I ate. The original recipe just seemed a bit too basic for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My husband loved this and has added it to the list of recipes he feels comfortable making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Ok for a different twist on potpie, but way too much corn flavor for us. Don't think i'll make it again unless I use different vegetables to add a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Way too sweet and not creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I will add some chili powder to the corn bread as well as a can of drained green chiles!! A little more flavor, perhaps some cumin also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxy
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I like the recipe, it was very easy to follow. I added canned whole potatoes (cut them up), cooked in large cup cake pan of 6. I would change how there isn't a bottom to the pot pie. I scooped out the pot pie from the cup cake pan and all the goodies came out. Would like to see a bottom layer added to this, I will do that next time ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This was a fantastic dish and my husband calls it "comfort food"! The only change I made was putting in mixed veggies instead of corn. Other than that, if you follow the recipe it will turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I used 2 boxes of cornbread mix and used half of the batter to bake in the pan until it started turning golden then poured the mixture. Omitted the cheese and poured the rest of the cornbread mix on top. Baked until golden brown. Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States