Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was delicious! My husband and I ate every last bite! I slow-cooked the chicken using bag n season and natures seasoning for flavor. I used half a can of corn and half a can of green beans. I also seasoned it well before cooking (salt, pepper, nature's seasoning). I used Marie Calendars corn bread mix, but made it as the recipe said...except I added a large pre-sauteed jalapeno to the corn bread mixture. It was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty! What more can you ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Pure comfort food! After looking over the reviews, I decided to replace the 8 ounce can of corn with a 14.5 ounce can of cream corn (to add more liquid). I also added sauteed onion and garlic to the chicken. My choice of cornbread mix (Jiffy) added sweetness to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is really good. I've never had a pot pie with a cornbread topping. It was quite a change and quite good. I used left over Thanksgiving turkey. I bought cauliflower and broccoli for Thanksgiving dinner and didn't use all of it so I added a bag of frozen beggies to the mix and I used fat free soup. Out of curiosity I made it as directed the first time, but the second time I made it, I added 1/2 cup drained salsa, some shredded PepperJack along with the Cheddar Cheese, plus a table spoon of taco seasoning to the turkey mixture. For the veggies I used half a can of drained and rinsed black beans and the corn cut from 2 ears of corn. Wow. both ways were great and I will absolutely be making it again...both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was pretty good and easy to make! I had 1/2 a roasted chicken to use up, this fit the bill for that. I also used a whole 15 oz. can of corn, it worked out fine. Over all, a pretty good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The filling was very bland so in order to make it a 5 star I added 3 minced garlic cloves, some garlic powder, parsley, and pepper. I substituted the corn with peas and carrots for some color. I used campbell's cream of chicken and mushroom so I can poison my family with more veggies. I love my version better. The filling to bread ratio was half and half. Next time I will add more filling. Thanks Campbell for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made this Vegetarian. I used cream of broccoli, but you could also use cream of mushroom/ asparagus/ etc, and instead of chicken/turkey, I fried some tofu and used that. I used soy milk instead of regular and I added spices and instead of just corn, used 2 cans mixed veggies. It was delicious, and boyfriend approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Based on previous reviewers, I added a lot of spices...minced garlic to the chicken mixture and onion powder, garlic powder, seasoned salt, Parmesan cheese and red pepper flakes to the cornbread topping. I much prefer Chicken Souiza Cornbread Bake (on this website), though it requires a bit more work than this recipe, it's definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This recipe is very easy and is pretty tasty. However, I think it really needs some veggies. Next time, I plan to add a bag of broccoli,carrots, and cauliflower to it. Also, I think it tasted better when I re-heated the leftovers a few days later. The first time I ate it, it tasted liked a can of soup with chicken in it. The second time, the flavors had blended more. I think it might also taste good with ham instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
My family LOVES this recipe. I always add some pepper, parsley and garlic powder to the filling for flavor. Also, instead of a mix, I use the Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread recipe from this site for the topping. I have also used mixed veggies instead of just corn. I like that this a complete meal all in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States