Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Roxy
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I like the recipe, it was very easy to follow. I added canned whole potatoes (cut them up), cooked in large cup cake pan of 6. I would change how there isn't a bottom to the pot pie. I scooped out the pot pie from the cup cake pan and all the goodies came out. Would like to see a bottom layer added to this, I will do that next time ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This was a fantastic dish and my husband calls it "comfort food"! The only change I made was putting in mixed veggies instead of corn. Other than that, if you follow the recipe it will turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I used 2 boxes of cornbread mix and used half of the batter to bake in the pan until it started turning golden then poured the mixture. Omitted the cheese and poured the rest of the cornbread mix on top. Baked until golden brown. Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Used leftover brined chicken from Trader Joe's plus onions, carrots, peas and potatoes cooked with it. Used cream of potato soup because it was in the pantry. Added a bit of milk based on reviews I'd read. Also added Herbes de Provance, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper and garlic powder. For the cornbread used less milk than called for on this recipe but more than 1/3 cup. Three adults ate the whole pie and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I was all set to make this and discovered that my chicken was bad so I had to improvise which I normally don't like to do. So instead, I used one pound of hamburger, a can of condensed cream of potatoe soup and mixed vegetables. I don't like to change recipes the first time through but this sounded good and I really wanted to try it. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made the dish on Sunday, it was gone Monday. I shared with 3 other people who were raving about the sweetness of the cornbread paired with the chicken potpie filling. Aside from cooking the chicken, the dish was super easy to make and it was so good. The only that I would like to point out is that the recipe calls for more milk to be added to the cornbread mix than what is listed on the box. In my opinion, the extra milk made the cornbread batter too liquid so it didnt brown like I wanted it to. But aside from that, it was quick, easy and good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Ever since I first tried this recipe 6 months ago, it has been a family favorite. I made some modifications(as every good cook does) to fit my family so the recipe doesn't really look the same. I doubled the recipe for my family of 5,I used 2-12oz jars of turkey gravy instead of the chicken soup and added sour cream. I heated the gravy and sour cream on the stove added the chicken that I had cooked in butter with diced garlic and a little lemon pepper seasoning. when the sour cream/gravy mix is heated and bubbly I added a blend of broccoli, carrots, and peas. I put the mix into a 9x13 baking dish and topped it with the corn bread mixture. I Baked for about 20-25minutes (uncovered)until the cornbread is golden. My kids, who are very picky eaters, love this recipe. Sometimes I let them decide which veggies to add.Sometimes I sprinkle Swiss cheese over the top of the cornbread, Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I tweaked the recipe a bit. I cooked the chicken in butter, a tablespoon of minced garlic, & a sprinkle of pepper. I also added more cheddar cheese, just enough to cover the chicken/corn/soup mixture, & then I sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on top of that. Tasted amazing! My kids loved it & my fiance ate over half the pie! This is definitely going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars as it's "good". The basic recipe is a great foundation to make this awesome. The cornbread topping is easy and tasty. I used creamed corn, carrots and peas as the veggies. Now, I think, generally speaking, chicken pot pie is bland. It's Good, but won't make your taste buds dance. I added Essence of Emeril, 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes, 1 tsp black pepper..which helped a little. Ended up putting hot sauce on it even after serving. My next try with this recipe is to make a TexMex version. Add taco seasoning to the chicken, add a can of drained Rotel Tomatos etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
It seems like too much milk (3/4 cup) for the corn muffin mix. I had a mess with the very thin batter running over the pie plate. I removed what I could then started again with another box of muffin mix and just 1/3 cup milk. It was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDHILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States