Corn Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This recipe has been edited to note that, if necessary, water should be added to the ingredients during the mixing process to make a workable dough. We suggest starting with about 1/4 cup and gradually inreasing the amount as needed. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
The dough for these rolls is very, very stiff--so much, in fact, that it labored my machine to the point where I thought it was going to break. I had to add 3 tablespoons of water just to make it manageable and that was with only three cups of flour. Maybe it is the difference in bread machines. The recipe instructs to cook them at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. I thought that sounded like a long time, so I kept my eye on them and they were done in 15 minutes. Also, this much dough does NOT fit in a 9" pie plate. It made 10 very large rolls that had to be put on a cookie sheet in order to have enough room to rise. They tasted good, and my husband said they would be good with beef stew or chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Beautiful brown rolls that are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. But I only had to cook them for 25 minutes -- I put them in individual muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
I added 3 tablespoons more of the milk so that my bread machine wouldn't labor over kneading the dough. I also wonder if the 45 minutes at 400 degrees isn't a typo. I baked the rolls for only 15 minutes, and they were nice and brown on top and done in the middle. Any longer, and I would've needed a license to own such deadly weapons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Yum! Thanks Judy! I made these exactly as recipe states. I did need to add more water (I used water and milk powder instead of milk, easier to get room temp)during the kneading. But I always test the dough for stiffness during the second knead. Please folks, remember that making breads and doughs in the bread machine still requires you to check the dough during kneading. Adding more liquid or flour according to how the dough feels. During the second knead it should feel sticky, like tape. For reference I like to fold a piece of scotch tape and tape to top of bread machine. I tap my finger on it to get a feel for what the dough should fel like, then I touch the dough. Adding more liquid or flour as needed. (I remove the tape before baking happens) All that said, these rolls are wonderful!!! A nice delicate crunch from the corn, and a lovely yeast fragrance and flavor! I am making these to take to Thanksgiving dinner! ***I forgot to state that I did only bake these for 15 minues (I am sure 45 is a typo) and got 10 huge rolls. You could easily make them smaller and get around 18-20 perfect dinner sized rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I substitute the oil and margarine for butter and add a bit more sugar and my family absolutely loves this roll. It is usually gone within one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
These were hard and terrible tasting. Maybe I did something wrong??? I threw them out also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
the dough was very crumbly - I added a bit more milk. It cooked them 40 minutes and they were very crusty on top - like hard tea biscuits. I threw most of them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
It's a great recipe except for the baking time. Bake for 45 minutes if you are looking for hockey pucks !!!! Fortunately I was skeptical and checked at the 8 min mark.. Wow - better change the baking time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I was only able to incorporate 2 1/4 c flour into this recipe. I increased sugar to 1/2 cup. Also, I was able to make 14 rolls, and after having them in the oven for 15 minutes, they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States