Corn Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
The dough for these rolls is very, very stiff--so much, in fact, that it labored my machine to the point where I thought it was going to break. I had to add 3 tablespoons of water just to make it manageable and that was with only three cups of flour. Maybe it is the difference in bread machines. The recipe instructs to cook them at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. I thought that sounded like a long time, so I kept my eye on them and they were done in 15 minutes. Also, this much dough does NOT fit in a 9" pie plate. It made 10 very large rolls that had to be put on a cookie sheet in order to have enough room to rise. They tasted good, and my husband said they would be good with beef stew or chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
the dough was very crumbly - I added a bit more milk. It cooked them 40 minutes and they were very crusty on top - like hard tea biscuits. I threw most of them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
These were hard and terrible tasting. Maybe I did something wrong??? I threw them out also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
I added 3 tablespoons more of the milk so that my bread machine wouldn't labor over kneading the dough. I also wonder if the 45 minutes at 400 degrees isn't a typo. I baked the rolls for only 15 minutes, and they were nice and brown on top and done in the middle. Any longer, and I would've needed a license to own such deadly weapons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This recipe has been edited to note that, if necessary, water should be added to the ingredients during the mixing process to make a workable dough. We suggest starting with about 1/4 cup and gradually inreasing the amount as needed. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Beautiful brown rolls that are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. But I only had to cook them for 25 minutes -- I put them in individual muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
I like these rolls because they have a hint of cornmeal, but give you that great yeast roll taste as well. I tried freezing them, and they came out of the freezer tasting great. Wonderful warm with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I was only able to incorporate 2 1/4 c flour into this recipe. I increased sugar to 1/2 cup. Also, I was able to make 14 rolls, and after having them in the oven for 15 minutes, they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I substitute the oil and margarine for butter and add a bit more sugar and my family absolutely loves this roll. It is usually gone within one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
It's a great recipe except for the baking time. Bake for 45 minutes if you are looking for hockey pucks !!!! Fortunately I was skeptical and checked at the 8 min mark.. Wow - better change the baking time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States