Corn with Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Wow, this is great if you have fresh corn. I did not nuke this recipe, since I hated nuked food. I sauteed the jalapeno and red onion in 3 T. butter until softened. Then added the corn and cooked about 5 minutes til tender. I then seasoned it with fresh ground white pepper and kosher salt to taste. Did not have pimento or red pepper. Did not miss it. Wonderful side with Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
So simple, but very tasty. Did not have the pimento, but used red onion for a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe. After reading the other reviews I decided to use red bell pepper instead of pimento. I also sauted the onion, pepper, and jalepeno in a tbsp of butter before adding frozen corn. Our family loved it. It was alot like the mexicorn you can buy canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Corn is a favorite at our house (probably because it's so sweet) and my daughters did eat this up, but to me the overwhelming flavor of the finished dish was butter - even with the jalapenos and pimentos. I normally adjust my expectations based on the ingredient listing, but I really didn't think 2T of butter would have such an impact on the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
great summer side dish, simple and great for picnics. i did make it in the microwave but next time I'd make it even better but frying up the onions and making it all on the stovetop. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very good! I didn't have any jalapeno peppers on hand, so I used half of a 4 oz can of diced green chile peppers (drained) and no pimentos. It was just enough heat for us. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Such an easy way to jazz up a side dish of corn! I used canned corn, pickled jalapeno slices, and subbed some diced pepper for the pimentos. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
My family loved this dish! I made a slight variation based on reading the other reviews. First, I substituted a red pepper for the pimento. Then, I grilled the corn on the cob first and then cut the corn off of the cob and sauted all the ingredients in the butter for about 5 minutes, instead of cooking in the microwave. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Awesome! Super quick and easy. I used canned corn and a green onion for additional color... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I also did not use the microwave but sauteed everything instead. I subbed chopped red bell pepper for the pimento and sauteed that in butter with the onion, then added the jalapenos. When those were crisp tender I added the corn and continued cooking until just heated through. Nice way to dress up corn! Two jalapenos was a bit spicy, so next time I might scale it back to one. But this was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States