Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Here is the real thing. 1 1/2 cups water, 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup corn meal, 1 egg, 1 tsp salt. Heat a bit of oil in small skillet, pour scant 1/4 cup batter, rotate pan. Cook until edges dry. Deep fry folding in half until cooked to desired crispness. It takes a little practice but is absoltely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
First time making tortillas. I made lots and we enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Addendum: If you make the tortillas ''right'' they WILL puff up (or hinflar as we latin people say), no baking powder is needed. If you go to a tortilla making factory you will see the freshly made tortillas come out of the machine puffed up then flatten as they come off the conveyor belt. The trick to do this at home is to have made the masa done just right, then put it on the skillet and leave it to cook on one side for about 20 seconds then flip it over to the uncooked side and leave it for 10 seconds, then keep flipping it over every 10 seconds or so and press lightly on the corn tortilla occasionally. In some cases you will see some bubble on the surface of the tortilla, on others you will see it puff up dramatically (if you achieve this, congrats....you're Pro). Another tip is to make sure you have a thick cloth or tortilla holder ready and soon as the tortillas come off the comal/skillet, stick em in there and just keep putting in all your tortillas until done then wait about 3 min. Your tortillas will be soft and the final test for perfection is when you can take one tortilla and roll it tightly in your palm without it breaking. Viva tradicion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGhoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Very good and very easy. Next time i will try making them with broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Pretty good stuff. I did add a little salt to my dough. Having trouble separating the plastic from the tortilla? Hold the tortilla (with plastic on both sides) in one hand and gently peel the plastic away from the tortilla (NOT the tortilla from the plastic. Then flip tortilla to the other hand and repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Easy and tasty. I dont have a press, so I used a rolling pin. I put the dough ball on a piece of parchment paper, then I put a piece of saran wrap over it and rolled. I had no problems with sticking. Certainly weren't perfect circles, but they tasted great. I also added salt (about 1/2tsp) and a splash of lime juice as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this last week according to directions. They came out wonderful. If you are having problem with them sticking then add your water slowly to the masa slowly as you mix. Just sa it becomes hard to stir with a spoon, use your hands to mis and mix in just enough water to hold it together adn kneed it a bit. It should no longer stick to your hands, if it does add sprinkle a tad more masa on the ball of dough and kneed a bit more. If you are having trouble with it sticking while rolling or pressing out, then place a ball of dough inbetween 2 pieces of plastic wrap, press, then slowly peel off the plastic wrap. This is how i did it and it works wonderfully. Last night I made them again and added a little salt to the mix, pressed them, then deep fried them into the shape of a bowl for my chili. The kids loved them, and I didnt have bowls to wash! Just carefully place a pressed tortilla into the hot oil and hold a metal ladle down in the center of it as it fries. Pretty simple, and quite tasty!!! You can also make the dough just a little stiffer and use a pizza cutter to make your own fritos!!! they went well with the chili. I LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Better than I was expecting, but not as good as I truly was hoping for (does that make sense?). Easy to make, but the flavor was not just QUITE what I remembered from the authentic, homemade corn tortillas I've had. I think next time I will add lime juice and salt, that will probably do the trick. Final thought: after making these, I definitely have decided I need a tortilla press. Mine weren't very pretty, but pretty good! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
very good, no fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Great recipe! easy to make and my kids ate them too! I of course made this with the refried beans receipe and we gobbled the tortillas up. I am thankfull for a chemical free alternative to tortilla wraps from the store that are full of preservatives and things I can't even pronounce, thank you! now I just have to get a tortiall press so they come out round and not rectagular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States