Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Alrighty!! I make homemade corn tortillas everyday. There was a previous comment about the tortillas not puffing up. Well, they should puff up. The steam that is trapped within the tortillas makes the tortillas a lot softer. The trick to this is knowing when to flip the tortillas. When you first make the Masa dough, knead the dough for about two minutes. The masa should not stick to your hands and cleans the sides of the bowl. You're griddle should be on Med. High. Lay your tortilla on the griddle when the tortillas doesn't stick flip it, then when you see golden brown marks on the edge of the tortilla, flip again. Gently press the tortilla in the middle to help it fluff. And there you go. It's not very time consuming. Just have to get into the practice of it. But whatever you do, DON'T add lime!! Or baking powder! The recipe above IS the way they make it in Mexico - that's where I learned. Hope this was helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Perfect. Husband's grandma was visiting from Mexico & I watched her. Keep it simple & use water & a little salt. It doesn't look like one giant ball of dough after mixing. More like pie crust with pea sized clumps. Just pick some up, press into a ball and use a tortilla press. I cooked in a cast iron skillet. Husband likes homemade salsa and crumcled queso fresco on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These turned out great, the only changes I made were that I added a tablespoon of lard and a pinch of salt. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Add pinch of salt and a small hand-full of shredded cheese and some bacon bits to give a much different taste. Flatten to about 3/16 inch using the heal of your hand on plastic (food bag) . Transfer to your hand. Peel plastic and flop onto hot dry frying pan, preferably cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Simple as possible. Great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
So good and so easy to make! We had tostadas with these and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Here is the real thing. 1 1/2 cups water, 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup corn meal, 1 egg, 1 tsp salt. Heat a bit of oil in small skillet, pour scant 1/4 cup batter, rotate pan. Cook until edges dry. Deep fry folding in half until cooked to desired crispness. It takes a little practice but is absoltely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
First time making tortillas. I made lots and we enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Addendum: If you make the tortillas ''right'' they WILL puff up (or hinflar as we latin people say), no baking powder is needed. If you go to a tortilla making factory you will see the freshly made tortillas come out of the machine puffed up then flatten as they come off the conveyor belt. The trick to do this at home is to have made the masa done just right, then put it on the skillet and leave it to cook on one side for about 20 seconds then flip it over to the uncooked side and leave it for 10 seconds, then keep flipping it over every 10 seconds or so and press lightly on the corn tortilla occasionally. In some cases you will see some bubble on the surface of the tortilla, on others you will see it puff up dramatically (if you achieve this, congrats....you're Pro). Another tip is to make sure you have a thick cloth or tortilla holder ready and soon as the tortillas come off the comal/skillet, stick em in there and just keep putting in all your tortillas until done then wait about 3 min. Your tortillas will be soft and the final test for perfection is when you can take one tortilla and roll it tightly in your palm without it breaking. Viva tradicion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Very good and very easy. Next time i will try making them with broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States