Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I used this recipe last night and the tortillas were a hit. At first I tried kneading the masa like I knead bread dough, but it didn't work well; the masa crumbled apart and I had to keep gathering pieces and smashing them back in. I then switched to the clay kneading technique my potter mother-in-law taught me, rocking/pressing/twisting the dough, which worked perfectly to mix the masa. We don't have a tortilla press, so after putting the dough in the gallon zip lock bag I covered it with a heavy bamboo cutting board and my children & I took turns sitting on it to press perfect tortillas! They loved this part! No need for a tortilla press! This recipe made about 10 tortillas for us but I'm not certain, because my husband liked to eat them hot off the comal with butter & salt. Next time I'll double it so we'll have enough for man snacks, dinner, and breakfast chilaquiles. It's so nice to have fresh made tortillas that don't crack when I want to make taquitos or enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent reviews! Appreciate cultural input. My next cooking tool will be a tortilla press. t:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I must have used the wrong corn flour because this did not work for me at all.The dough was kneaded fine and shaped but it was the texture of shortbread.I will try again with another flour product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
These turned out great! For those who don't have a press, I used the bottom of a pot to flatten out balls of dough. With a little elbow grease, they turned out pretty great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I'm so proud of myself! I just bought an 8" cast iron Imusa-brand tortilla press from Amazon (about $23) and it just arrived. I was so afraid my tortillas would be a disaster, but guess what! I'll never buy corn tortillas again! I only made enough for 4 (1/2 c. masa harina, 1/3 c. water, and a pinch of salt.) My "golf-balls") made 5" tortillas, and I devoured them. I didn't even have time to try out my new tortilla warmer! Next time, I'll try for larger tortillas. I used a 1-gal. Ziploc freezer bag, cut in two, but I think a 1-qt. size would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I wrote this recipe on my Maseca corn flour bag. The hot water part seems to make the dough stay together better. Also, I use the cut apart freezer quart ziplock and just wipe it off to reuse the next time. I found a Tor-Mex Hecho brand tortilla press at the thrift store for three dollars that works great. These are SO much better than store bought tortillas and are not at all hard to make. Plus your friends will be impressed by your cooking skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
The press is a must. I use a small freezer plastic bag cut to fit on three sides to put ball of masa in between to press. I cook them on a very hot griddle; you can cook up to 8 at one time. then I put them in the microwave for about 30 secs to fluff. This way you can stuff them with beans, cheese, salsa or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Thanks to the helpful hints of the reviewers, I was finally able to make corn tortillas. I have always had trouble with the tortillas sticking and tearing apart, and I am so grateful for the solution found in the reviews: add more masa harina. Also, used the cut up freezer bag tip. I don't have a tortilla press (I will get one now), so I pressed down on the ball of dough with a frying pan, and that worked far better than a rolling pin or my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Giving 4 stars at this time as I just made two batches for enchiladas this evening. If the hold together while make the enchiladas, then this will definitely be a five star recipe. (I use the Texas Enchilada Sauce by Sue on this site. I get rave reviews with it!!!) ***UPDATE*** Changing to 5 Stars!! Just prepped the enchiladas and the tortilla held together wonderfully, better than store bought! I am so happy...I can do my enchiladas anytime now, no matter what country I am living in!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is the real deal! I grew up eating tortillas made the same way and I still eat them today. Try substituting some of the water with chicken broth for a slightly different flavor or add differents flavors into the masa, such as garlic, onion, or any of your favorite spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States