Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
These taste just like the tortillas my Honduran neighbor used to make. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
very easy and good, made tostados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is my first time trying this recipe. I did use a tortilla press with parchment paper ( it's a little better quality than wax paper) and I let the dough ball sit for more that an hour. It worked like charm, no sticking, no problems just delicious tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I don't particularly enjoy making tortillas - in a home where we make nearly everything from scratch, it's just one more cooking chore in the bag. However, good luck finding non-gmo corn tortillas, so I had to go with homemade, otherwise I just wasn't going to use corn tortillas. This was a little bland, I would definitely try salt next time. Made homemade taquitos with them right off the griddle, and every last one cracked, even while they were warm and covered with a towel. My proportions and cook method could've been off, as I'm only used to making flour tortillas at this point. However, for my purposes, I think in the future I'll just use the raw dough, put in my fillings, and pan fry in a little coconut oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
That easy? I'm buying a tortilla press, because I won't buy store-bought any more! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were great! Much better than store bought! I don't have a press, so I did as another reviewer suggested and used a plastic freezer bag cut in half. Worked really well. I did add about a 1/4 tsp. salt and skipped the 30 min. rest part. They still turned out good, I won't be buying any soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
i used more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMJ13628
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I've tweeked this recipe to finally make what I consider to be a perfect corn tortilla. First, I add 1 teaspoon of seasoning salt to the masa harina. Without it, they smell wonderful, but taste like a frisbee. I also add about one tablespoon of shortening to the hot water and let it melt before adding it to the masa harina. Then I divide the dough into about 12 balls - and use a tortilla press. This makes a perfect sized tortilla. I used to go crazy with the dough sticking - I tried plastic wrap, ziploc bags, parchment - they all stuck and I'd end up swearing way more than I usually do when cooking. What works is a tip I saw in the insert that came with my tortilla press - two circles cut out of plastic grocery bags (don't use the side with ink, or your tortilla will have writing on it). Press your tortillas between those, and they NEVER stick. Also, my corn tortillas NEVER used to puff (but I do like the brown spots that come from puffing). If you pull the dough balls apart and re-roll them right before pressing them, it seems to aerate the dough, and they'll puff and bubble nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is what I use. It's really great, simple. I use it to make my gorditas, but you know I also add salt. I definitely recommend using a tortilla press, although when you make them by hand it's a lot of fun (And good for kids, too!) and they have that 'homey' look to them. My mother in law taught me how to make tortillas that way, and using this basic recipe. Glad to see it on Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Super simple and came out great! 1 cup of masa and 3/4 cup water was the right mixture for me. The tip to roll out between a plastic bag was so important for me since I don't have a press. I used my electric griddle at 400 degrees the transferred to a tortilla keeper. My husband is so impressed. I've been asked to make these on a regular basis for him. Excellent for celiac (gluten free).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States