Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Easy. Easy. Easy. One of my kids wanted breakfast burritos. Got ready to make them when I found we were out of tortillas. Did have masa harina in the pantry. So simple to do. I didn't wait the 30 minutes it recommended and they came out fine. Next time, I'll add a little salt. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
These were pretty good. I ended up adding about another 1/2 cup of water. Although I think next time I'll use 1/2 c. of milk instead of that extra 1/2 c. water. I also added about 2 t. salt. I found that the easiest thing to do was to cut the zipper top and sides off of a 1 gallon ziplock bag, place the ball of dough between the hinged halves of the bag, roll the dough out thin with a pin, and cut with a large round cookie cutter (or trace around a plate with a knife). The smaller they are, the easier they are to cook. Make sure you "steam" them in foil or a bag as you remove them from the pan, otherwise they dry out too quickly and crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
All I could find was Masaca at the store, so I tried making tortillas from that. I used this recipe for Tortillas for some enchiladas. When the enchiladas were dunked in the sauce, they immediately began to disintegrate, and subsequently tasted like the dough around tamales--not corn tortillas. I do not know if the different flour had anything to do with this or not. I did not have any troubles kneading, rolling, or cooking the dough. I had to add a little extra water, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Well, I'm certain it's just me, given the other reviews, but this didn't work out for me at all. I've made tortillas (flour & corn) several times before, but I've never used simply masa harina & water before. Anyway, maybe it was because I let the dough sit for 1.5 hours instead of 30 min? Maybe it was because I added salt? The dough seemed ok...not too dry, not too wet and it was workable. Maybe it was because I didn't have a cast iron pan, only teflon? Whatever happened, they just weren't working. Even though they were very thin and I had the heat up high, after a few minutes on each side, they still weren't browning or puffing up in the least. After 30 sec, they were pretty much raw, and my stove is very hot (it's a newer gas stove). They tasted like cardboard - the worst tortillas I've ever had. I did manage to salvage the recipe, though...I cut them into pieces, deep fried them in some olive oil, blotted the oil off, put them on a baking sheet, covered them with sea salt, and baked them in the oven for about 10 min til they crisped up. The result was some of the best tortilla chips I've ever had! I ate them warm with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I've come to love making tortillas at home, and I always use this recipe. But I don't have a press, so here's my technique: use a plastic cereal bowl like a cookie cutter to make a perfectly round tortilla. Then just take it off along with the top layer of plastic. Really cuts down on the mess, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Pretty tasty tortillas. I had to add a bit of water after the original mixing, but I overdid it, so I added a touch of flour, etc. Didn't use a tortilla press, as I don't own one, but I did put the dough ball between two pieces of freezer bag plastic, then pressed it with the bottom of a skillet. Smaller and a bit thicker than the tortillas I'm used to, but storebought tortillas can't come close to the taste of this homemade version. I think they can be a lot better with practice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
PLEASE note: for those who are having trouble with sticking, add a bit more masa... your masa is to wet. Here's how; Mix the masa and water with your hands until it does not stick to your hands or the large bowl you mix it in. Continue to kneed at least 3 minutes or longer THEN let it rest and hour or so covered with a damp towel. Make small balls, (golf ball size), and use parchment paper to flatten in a press. Enjoy, for these are wonderful and a delight to eat. I accidentally bought MASECA corn mix one day and now use it exclusively. I hope this helps those who are having trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegrindre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I hope others have better luck than I. I tried everything from cut up vac-loc bags, to wax paper, to wax paper with Pam coating....I think my tortilla press was even calling me names. Finally got a few semi-circles into the pan...but it certainly wasn't what I'd call a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
These are great! I've been making corn tortillas for years, but never had a recipe. Often they would end up too dry or too soggy. This recipe has the perfect proportions. We go one step further and cut each tortilla into wedges and fry for chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I use a locally produced masa available in our area to make corn tortillas very similar to your recipe. I have found that by substituting good homemade stock (vegetarian or meat) makes for a better tasting tortilla. Sometimes on a few occasions I wil add a dash of garlic salt, onion powder and pepper to the masa just to give it a bit of a kick, but if really isn't necessary if you use stock as I mentioned. *I cut up small squares of wax paper to fit the tortilla press to form each tortilla, stack them one on top of the other and this avoid them sticking together. Make sure to store the tortillas in an airtight container or ziploc bag in the frig if you are not going to cook them immediately. ** If the tortillas do stick together, as I read in some of the reviews, it is because too much liquid was used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States