Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Served with Barbacoa Meat. I should have doubled these together before cooking because the liquids made them soggy. Although I don't like corn tortillas, these were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These are really tasty however, wish I had a tortilla press. I couldn't get them very round but they were functional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Good recipe. Easy to do. I would add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
So good and so fun to make, we even purchased a cast iron tortilla press! It takes a little practice and harder to make in a frying pan. The dough should be pliable-and not too dry but not sticky-kind of like Play-Dough. If you have masa harina -corn flour (sold in grocery stores) on hand you can make Mexican food anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I added salt. The ratio of the flour and water didn't come out exactly as the recipe said. I had to add more water to achieve the right consistency of the dough. I don't own a press or griddle so I used ziplock bag and a round baking pan and my hands to press and shape the dough. To cook, I tried with iron skillet and non-stick pan. The first batch I made was with non-stick pan. After cooking 30 sec. or if not more on each side, most of them did not puff up and none of them turned brown. They were somewhat dry and tasted like undercooked. I adjusted the amount of the water to the dough and tried the second batch with iron skillet. I don't know if it's because of the electric stove, I had a problem controlling the cooking temperature. Dry, ungreased surface of the skillet didn't help either. So, back to non- stick pan and I tried the 3rd batch. On medium heat(electric stove 5). Making sure the pan is staying pretty hot, throw a tortilla in. And this time, I'm counting time: Cook for about 20 sec, flip, cook for another 20 sec, flip, cook for 10sec, flip, another 10 sec, flip. And it puffs up. Done. Some puffed up after a few flips and I don't know if it has anything to do with the thickness of the dough, but they all came out soft, moist and fully cooked. They just didn't get brown like the picture. Even though this recipe didn't work for me, I did get some really good helpful tips by reading everyone's review so I thank you all for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is the ol' standby recipe that has always worked for me. I do add some salt, not necessary but I like it. You can't depend on the exact amount of water from any tortilla recipe. Add enough water until the dough feels like play-dough, not dry enough to crack but not wet enough to be sticky. I use tools to help me: a KitchenAid stand mixer to knead the dough and a tortilla press to make lovely, thin rounds. And yes, I cook them on a cast-iron skillet. Fresh tortillas are so worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this recipe twice today! It was very easy & relatively quick. I did add chicken bouillon to the water and 1 tsp of salt. I figured out the correct consistency of the dough is similar to that of play-doh. I found if the dough dried out I sprayed it with a little water from a spray bottle to rehydrate without making it sticky. I used a freezer Ziploc bag for my rolling sheets of choice (I tried parchment paper, but it pulls moisture from the dough). I don't have a tortilla press, so used my small cutting board for first press of the dough, then finished with my rolling pin, turning the tortilla after each roll which gave me an end result of a nice (fairly round) tortilla. I began the cooking process with a hot dry skillet, cooked 25 seconds, flipped & cooked 25 seconds, flipped again, lightly pressing the tortilla just until it started to fill with air cooking 25 seconds (got that air pocket many say is important), then one more flip for 25 seconds more & set on a plate covered by a bowl to keep the heat and moisture in (I also put a damp towel on the plate to wrap the tortillas in). The tortillas were soft and had a wonderful taste. I wrapped & stored them in the fridge. I made a couple of empanadas (small fried meat pies) with the dough. One with some shredded left-over Asian pork & one with some thick chili. My husband liked them so much, he asked if I would make some more for our dinner that night. I served them with a nice tossed salad. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe, easy I added 2 T coconut oil and a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
these are the best.... took a couple time's to get them perfect but have it down thank you so much for sharing will pass this one on.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
These were yummy! I did add salt though. easy! it was fun to make them. actually made for dinner and again for a mexican breakfast the next morning! You do need to adjust the water until the dough is the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIDOESLOANS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States