Corn, Sausage and Pepper Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
The whole family loved this!!! I stuck to the basic recipe, with just a couple changes. I didn't have any green bell peppers in the fridge, so I substituted a poblano pepper. The slightly spicy flavor of the poblano mixed nicely with the cumin, corn, and garlic. I also used frozen diced hash brown potatoes instead of the red potatoes to save some prep/cooking time (something I do with most recipes that call for potatoes). The biggest change I made, though, was substituting evaporated skim milk instead of the milk and cream so that it's much lower in fat. It was still thick and creamy, thanks to the pureed corn. Oh, and (recipe author, please correct me if I'm wrong), I think there was a typo on the amount of sausage--I think it's supposed to be 14 oz, not 4 oz. The packs of kielbasa from the store only come in 14 oz packs, so 4 oz would be just a tiny bit. I used the whole 14 oz and it seemed to be the perfect amount of sausage for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
We loved this soup! I never would have thought of cumin with the other ingredients, but it was great. Very colourful & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! We're vegetarian so we omit the sausage and use veggie broth in place of the chicken broth. I also add 2 bay leaves, use one cup of half and half in place of the milk and cream and add 1 cup of grated pepper jack cheese. It's marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4two

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very tasty - even better the next day. For the most part, I followed the recipe except... In step 1 - sauteed the veggies in a skillet, transferred to pot. In step 2 - browned kielbasa in same skillet, transferred to pot. Mopped up excess grease from skillet with paper towel then deglazed with chicken broth to release the fond then added to pot. I used a bag of diced potatoes which seemed to take a long time to soften. Next time I will use red potatoes the recipe calls for. I also found I needed more chicken broth. I will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
My family liked it, I LOVED it; however we were a bit disappointed at the lack of creaminess. I think next time I would use less chicken broth, more heavy cream or even 1/2 'n 1/2, also add some shredded cheese perhaps. The flavor was delicious though, and as my young daughter said: very colorful. I would made this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. Great on a cold winter's night. Used a half cup of heavy cream and found it to be very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is very good!!!! I used smoked sausage and added some celery and it turned out great!! I will be making it again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGGYFUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I read reviews first and made a few changes. I used 4 chicken sausage (andouille brand) diced it up and browed in frying pan. It needed some more chicken broth so added about another 1/2 cup. I used 1 can of corn drained and 1 can of cream corn instead of blending. as it was cooking, added a bit more heavy whipping cream (did not measure) trying to help thicken it a bit. & used half & half instead of milk. I had no Cumin, and didn't measure the white pepper. Added lawrys season salt & Spicy Montreal seasoning as well. The liquid part was more of a soup then chowder. but with all the veggies in it was perfect. If i thickened it up with cornstarch it may be too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
LOVED IT LOVED IT.... I used table cream instead of heavy cream and next time I will probably just use more milk to cut down calories (I don't think it will affect the taste too much) Also, I didn't have enough corn so I filled in the remainder with some frozen mixed veggies and in the process added more greens to the meal. Never hurts! Also, I added a little bit of Louisiana Gold hot sauce to the mix and when we served it we put tabasco in too. Really gave it a great kick. We'll be making this often for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
My family loved this. The only changes I made were that I used a spicy sausage, and left out the peppers (there were peppers in the sausage). I made it early in the morning, put it in the fridge, and then reheated it for dinner. The flavors blended wonderfully. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States